The True North Of My Lifes Compass

in #poetry7 years ago

meg 3.jpg

In just a few days my dearest little angel child will be turning 15
I have always heard over the years that the time goes by so fast, but never quite realized just how fast it truly goes, it seems like just yesterday that I brought her home. Just a tiny little baby helplessly looking up at me, and now it feels like I am hopelessly looking on as she blooms into a wonderful young lady.

I wrote the poem below when Meggan was a mere few weeks old, I remember just staring at her as she laid sleeping, thinking to myself: “I am going to try my utmost at being the best possible parent that I can” The poem is based on a few valuable life lessons that I would like for Meggan to carry with her throughout her life.

meg 2.jpg![meg 1.jpg]

My dear child, sleep well;
For the night will not linger for sleep that is lost.

My dear child, play joyous;
For the sun will not extend its stay for happiness.

My dear child, look around you;
Do not let your mind be caged by mere sight.

My dear child, dream often;
Dreams flee with haste if not embraced.

My dear child, love in abundance;
For the fear of love will strain the heart.

My dear child, forgive;
To forgive is a decision, to be forgiven is a lifetime gift.

My dear child, stand tall;
Pride is a mirror of your soul, show it to the world.

My dear child, remember;
When those around you tend to forget, remember who you are.

My dear child, pray;
This world is too big to face on your own.

()![meg.jpg]

Years past and days faded into an archive of memories, and you realize all the more that every single chance you get to love and care for your child is the very last chance that you will ever have in that given moment, you can not turn back the clock, you can not have a do over, the very best you can ever do is try over and over again with every new moment. Meggans loved falling asleep while I read her a story or sang her a song, her favorite song was “stairway to heaven” by Led Zeppelin of course. The one evening she took exceptional long to fall asleep, and when she finally did, I wrote this piece for her:

()![meggan 3 20161001_032243.jpg]

Angel

Sleep my angel;

Let the night take its winged dreams and caress you
May the troubles of your heart
And the thoughts of your mind
Be swept away
By breezes of tranquility
Let not Sights
Nor sounds
Bother you

Sleep well my angel;

Allow yourself to rest, away from restlessness
Forget the worries that concurred the sunlight
And the fears of tomorrow
May waves of calmness overcome you
Let not cold
Nor heat
Disturb you

Sleep now my angel;

In your dreams find the happiness that trust will bring you
In your dreams know of love
Beyond empires of kings
And wisdom of men
In your dreams find the things
that bring you joy

Then Wake

To find yourself in your dream

Then Wake

And know I love you

For you are my only dream

And these are my dreams for you

More time past and I watched skinned knees heal with the magic of kisses as her tiny legs learned to carry her faster and further and every day it became more obvious that through all my flaws she has always been my one true perfection. I would never want my life for her, I wished day apron day for her to have a better life, hopefully learn not only through love and guidance but also through my trails and errors.

()

My Dear Child

My dear child, your heart is free
to be the things, I could not be
with felines grace and eagles eye
be swift embrace what they denied

Live all days as days will come.
Try the ways that’s tried by none.
fear not love but fear not hate
Do not rush but do not wait

Late are regrets
baring lessons as stone.
I wish you to never be lonely
and seldom alone~!

Make your own choices
at the dawn of your day
Steer clear of voices
that trouble your way

Be true to yourself
Always be free
Most of all don't follow me!

I could have never dreamed of a blessing as great as the blessing that she has been to me!

Love you Meggan

You are my true North in the Compass of my life!

Sort:  

You really love your daugther very much and want the best for her. Parents are so alike in that respect. To the world my autistic son may not achieve much, for me no victory is too small not to celebrate. Do check out my poems about my autistic son.

Oh wow, that is beautiful, Ill check them out as soon as I have a moment.

Respect

Thanks for your kind comments
Follow me for more

Have you read Josiah's fire? It is an amazing book about a mom and her Autistic son. I highly recommend it!

Will look for it

Such beautiful love! Lovely poems. My daughter is 18 years!

Oh wow, time truely does not stand still for any man!

I can empathise with you. My daughter turns 24 this December . Where do the years go

All I know is that I appreciate every moment I have!

Hi thanks for sharing your poems. :) I love most the line with the encouragement to pray. Indeed, this world is to be big to face it on ones own. If one thinks about it, how much is eternity to big for us? So the question becomes to whom should we pray to, why and how?

That is a question that can only be answered by your own inner truth...

Awww that's absolutely beautiful!

very nice poem :)

Thank you ever so much...

With Pleasure :)

Thank you for posting @breezin.

Beautiful.....lovely......poems:.expressive.....meaningful.....evocative.....contemplative....thoughtful.

Happy Birthday to Meggan.

:) That's awesome. Puts life into perspective.

That always makes me think of that Kenny Chesney song, Don't Blink, coz a lifetime goes by faster than you think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89