Queen of the Nile| Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

Queen of the Nile Poem cover.jpg
Image Source

Eyes penetrate worlds in a single glare

As hours slip as dust in the air.
Poised, motionless she sits by the windowpane
A frozen moment of eternity in a breath.

Original poem by @blanca237





Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by leap8 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Lovely poem @blanca237

I particularly liked the image of the moment of eternity frozen in a breath. It reminded me of ice crystals on the window in my bedroom as a kid in winter and my gran used to tell me it was jack frosts breath. My mum used to tell me it was my breath frozen which I much preferred the idea of lol

Eyes penetrate worlds in a single glare
As hours slip as dust in the air.
Poised, motionless she sits by the windowpane
A frozen moment of eternity in a breath.

Aww! that is beautiful, thank you for sharing that with me. I could almost feel it, lol ... little you, slapping the floor with squeaky sneakers, heading towards the window on a crisp winter morning. Oak and Pine trees nearby blanketed in snow. Mommy warming up milk for your cocoa in the kitchen. Knees pressed firmly on the window sill, as your cheeks press against the glass, huffing breath, tic-tock on the grandfather clock. Your eyes gaze away, the winter chill freezes the breath, just for you. Keeping alive a memory, if only for a short while. ... I really love your mother's version too, thank you for reading and giving my poem an awesome upvote @raj808.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16