To Fight The Tide (A Friday Poem)

in #poemchallenge6 years ago

I built my sand castle
On the water line
I stood and faced the battle
Against the rising tide

I reinforced the walls
I packed the sand tight
This castle was built to fall
But not without a fight

The water line climbed the bay
Defences were surpassed
The outer wall soon gave way
But the castle stood steadfast

Then the waves came a-rising
And the moat sank into the tide
Washed away, we were subsiding
Engulfed on all sides

The castle became an island
Swallowed by the sea
A fortress of running sand
Sliding away rapidly

But still I stood atop
The crumbling castle I made
Give up I could not
As we sank beneath the waves


I haven't been sharing much poetry recently, I have been hording it up, as @hazem91 reminded me (I have a habit of doing this) so here a poem about so many things. About fighting a losing battle, not to win, but to have fought. About standing by someone you love, come what may. About continuing to write in the face of awareness of not being great. About accepting loss, and about accepting the inevitability of loss, but not being held back by it. About loving regardless of the inevitable heart break. About standing your ground in the face of hopeless opposition. I would love to hear what it was about to you.

I have @hazem91 to thank for prodding me into sharing something, and @margaretwise to thank for her Friday Invitation, which is not up yet, but has got me into the habit of thinking poetically on Fridays.

Poemchallenge by @margaretwise is a great invitation to share heart felt and emotional poetry <3 - something I can shy away from sometimes - give her a follow to catch the latest round when it goes up!

Photo By Curt Smith from Bellevue, WA, USA (Sand Castle at Cannon Beach) via Wikimedia Commons

Sort:  

I love the way your brain works!!!! Your poetry never fails to intrigue me. Much like your story telling. Still living for the word cloy :) xxx

❤️
The Cure, Same Deep Water as You

This is beautiful <3

The water line climbed the bay
Defences were surpassed
The outer wall soon gave way
But the castle stood steadfast

Great write, Calluna, and work in metaphor:) The my community building exercise is up too. Come join in if you like:)

My Congratulations and thank you for taking a break from everyday worries. Poetry arises from a particular sensitivity and from the need to express in a personal way, its relation to the world and to itself in the form of words that purify the soul.

Great writing I am honored @margaretwise

unknown.png.png

https://steemit.com/poemchallenge/@margaretwise/poemchallenge-results-by-margaretwise-poetry-it-s-a-path-of-incredible-imagination

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46