What Brings Love, Killing Love (poem)

in #poem5 years ago

What Brings Love, Killing Love

When the inevitable distraction arrives,
My body forcing me to return,
She is always there waiting for me
lips soft and warm
And with bright love in her eyes.

Does she know she hides
her sadness from me?
Tiny frosted icicles that slowly grow
Till someday darkness shall extinguish
The light of day in her heart?

If she hides it from herself,
Then too it is true
That she hides it from me
For it was my need to travel
To other odd, exciting worlds
That first drew her to me.

It is a sadness I carry
During my journeys,
that I shall someday return
from the worlds I write of,
to find her lips have grown
cold and hard, more distant,
than my imaginary worlds,
with love lost in fantasy realms



Written: 20th March, 2019



Previously titled: Loving a Dreamer is costly



Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)


  • posted on PALNet - Steemit - WEKU - CreativeCoin: 10th September, 2019







Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68