Bangers for the blockchain (Pissedcore edition.)

Hey there, you digital degenerates. Well, I guess todays the day. I finally decided to revive this crusty, semi dead series for another round of rousing music recommendations for the 3 of you who actually bother to read these and check out the bands that I share. If you've never seen one of these posts before, it's just a little curated post of songs/bands that I've found in recent times which I enjoyed, that many of you have probably never heard of. Now, I'm a big fan of metal music so that tends to be a pretty decent majority of the music I share here, but I do try to throw in a few tracks that appeal to a wider audience here and there. This edition, however, will probably lean more towards the metal community as you can tell from the title (Surprise, surprise). So, just a fair warning, fucko's.


1: Vianova - User Experience

The first band I'm tossing in here is a relatively newer and smaller band to the metal scene. These guys fall into the modern metalcore genre, but, I definitely would say they're also pretty pissedcore. They definitely have that angsty "I fucking hate my mom" energy, you know? This band is based out of Germany, which you might pick up on. I definitely noticed a bit of an accent through the vocals. I can't say I'm totally in love with the vocals of this band, as I find there's just something missing with the "yelling" portion of them. The vocalists highs are really fucking good however, and his lows are pretty solid. The instrumental portions of the song are pretty fun if you enjoy the current sound of modern metalcore, which I do. I haven't checked out too much else from this band since they don't have many other songs yet, but, I will give a big recommend on this track. I'll definitely be keeping my eye on what else these guys put out.


2: Vein.fm - Fear in Non Fiction

These guys have been around since 2013, and are based out of the Boston area here in the US. This is another band I would put in this pissedcore genre. Especially with the scream/yell style vocals here. However, they aren't really on the metal side of things. These guys are modern post hardcore music with some metal influence tossed in at best. I would say a close comparison for their type of sound would be something like Code Orange, another modern hardcore band. This track in particular has a feature from the vocalist from the band Thursday putting in some cleans which I enjoyed a fair amount. The rest of the music is fun if you like post hardcore music, however, if you aren't a fan of that genre then I think you'll probably have a bit of a floppy penis while checking out this boner jam. But, I've always loved post hardcore and hardcore music from my days of being an emo kid. So, I dig em!


3: Greyhaven - Foreign Anchor

This band is a new one for me, but, they carry a lot of the same energy and a similar sound to one of my absolute favorite bands, The Dillinger Escape Plan. Greyhaven is a prog hardcore band based out of Kentucky, and I'm not sure if I would say they're pissedcore, or more mathcore with the instrumental work. Maybe both, with some pissed off mathematician who hates his wife type of energy. This is yet another band that isn't really metal. But, they're fun as fuck to jam to. I can tell you right now if you ever liked TDEP, then you'll be a fan of this band. If you don't have any idea who the fuck TDEP is, then I can say if you like crazy guitar work with passionate yelling then you'll probably enjoy this track a lot.


4: Thornhill - Arkangel

This track is probably the one that most people on here would prefer, since it's the first band of this post that isn't pissedcore. Thornhill is a modern metalcore band from Australia. But, this track shows that they're trying to evolve their sound, because, it's not at all metalcore. It's very much experimental I would say, and has a very Deftones like sound with the ambiance and vocal work. There's some fun heavier guitar work throughout the song which scratches that itch that metalheads would want. But, the vocals are the main focus and they're pretty marketable for the more mainstream crowd I would say. I imagine the majority of people who listen to this track would at least enjoy it once through. I'm not sure if this kind of genre bend is what this band is permanently going to go for. But, I really like this track and recommend it at least.


5: Joshua Travis - Web of Lies

And, for the final track, I'm going back to my roots and dropping an absolute metal as fuck banger. This track comes from Joshua Travis who you might know from the band Emmure. This is a titular solo project he started, where he's collaborating with other musicians from the scene. This song features guitar work from Stephen Taranto, a phenomenal guitarist who absolutely fucking shreds. Mixing that with Josh's deathcore riffing and chugs makes for some fun, heavy grooves. It also features Andy Cizek on vocals from the band Monuments. This guy is a great metal vocalist and has a huge variety of range. You can actually watch him stream over on Twitch sometimes, and he always puts on a good show. Really dig his tone and style. This whole song is just peak modern metal, imo. I would really, really recommend it if you're into the current deathcore or metalcore genre.


Aight. Well, that's gonna be it for this post. I think next week I'll do another one, because, I've found quite a few newer bands over the past month that I'd really like to share and put some spotlight on. If you check out these songs, hopefully you find one or two that you enjoy. Let me know what you think if you're not a lazy bastard down below.

And, until next time, doods!

Later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05