On learning a new language

in #pif5 years ago

I learned Spanish as a teenager. I got to the point where I was actually dreaming in Spanish. Last winter I got the Duolingo app on my phone and have been learning Danish for no good reason other than I was watching a Danish show on Netflix at the time. I have stuck with it, though, and I can tell you that your cat is drinking my beer in Danish. I have recently been inducted into the world of Discord (as of this afternoon) and it's like learning a whole new language. I am very nerdy in some ways. I can talk about the digestive systems of goats for hours at a time, or discuss Thomas Pynchon until my gums bleed. I am not a computer person, and half of the stuff on Discord makes no sense to me. I would greatly appreciate any tips you all might have for a total newbie venturing into unknown territory, trying to decipher things that might as well be Greek. Although maybe that's the next stop for my Duolingo app.

IMG_20170503_151813470.jpg

Sort:  

Hello
@goat-girlz
Pretty Kitty....!!!!
😅
"I can tell you that your cat is drinking my beer in Danish"
I suppose that could come in handy someday...Truly one never knows .
(:
I haven't yet leaped into Discord. Yet.

It comes up around here more than you'd think! The cat and the beer. I can see huge potential in Discord, but the learning curve is steep. For me, anyway.

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.
You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Seems you like cats, thats all I have to know to up=vote you... :-)

Thank you! I love my orange baby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71