Fuxian Lake in infrared

in #photomag6 years ago

The past weekend we took some time out to visit Fuxian lake in the Hunan province of China.

Fuxian lake spans an area of 212 square kilometres and is ranked as the third-deepest freshwater lake in China with a depth of 155 meters at its deepest point.

_JVW8731_XGA.jpg

Being a water mass makes it for me the obvious opportunity to take some landscape photographs. Unfortunately, the weather did not play in our favour. When we arrived I already knew that we may not have the ideal conditions for landscape photography. The weather forecast showed partly cloudy conditions with a 50% to 60% chance of rain, but we found a totally overcast lake.

Throughout the weekend we hardly saw the sun.

Although infrared photography is associated with bright sunshine, I have learned that it is also sometimes the saviour when you are confronted with really dull conditions. So most of my landscape photos of the weekend were done in infrared.

Like in most places in the world, water is associated with fishing, and for me, the place's culture is shown through the fishing boats they used.

Fuxian Lake is not different.

Here they are using steel fishing boats with a high front bow which make them actually very photogenic! This is most likely a much more recent rendition of what they used to use for fishing.

_JVW8723_XGA.jpg

While walking around, I also found a fishing boat graveyard, and, because the wind was blowing quite strong, I decided to create a long exposure to smooth out the water.

_JVW8735_XGA.jpg

This is my weekly #landscapephotography entry.

Hope you like it.

(Note, I also posted this on my Weku blog.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00