Are Women Who Wear Blue More Perceptive?

in #photography6 years ago

It might be an odd theory -

But hear me out. It seems to be borne out by photographic evidence.

GranadaFace.jpg

It'll be no surprise to even the least perceptive among us that most folks are walking around in a narcissistic daze, gazing into handheld social-media machines as they navigate the streets.

This makes the life of a candid street photographer very easy. First, because everyone is carrying a phone that doubles as a camera, there's nothing suspicious about someone walking around with a camera they only occasionally use as a phone. Second, because everyone is so involved with their phones, they're not likely to notice what anyone else is doing, anyhow. (Pokemon Go day was especially rich in photograph opportunity.)

Getting close-up candid shots with a wide-angle lens involves standing very close to someone who never notices you're there. And the more I've done it, the more amazed I've been at how easy it is to do.

EyeContact.jpg

Still, sometimes people do look back, if only for a second.

I don't usually notice it at the time. These encounters are over in a flash. It might just be a chance saccade that brings the pupils in line with the lens, or maybe they do notice that I'm holding the phone at a slightly odd angle.

BlueDress.jpg

It's always a bit of a shock to go through the pictures at the end of the day and find someone looking straight back at me. Like there was a connection there for a moment, and I missed it. And if I hadn't taken the picture, it would have been lost forever.

ShoulderTrolley.jpg

But for some strange reason I can't explain, it seems that all the people looking back at me are women. And they're all wearing some shade of blue.

YogaBag.jpg

I'm not sure if there's a scientific explanation for this. Could the colors we wear impact the amount of attention we pay to the environment? Are people who choose certain colors more perceptive or outwardly focused? Are women more perceptive then men?

What do you think?

BadPartOfTown.jpg

Maybe it's just that blue is an especially common color for clothing, what with denim jeans and jackets being a popular thing. After all, there are a wide variety of blues to choose from, from cornflower to sky to navy.

ExcuseM.jpg

I'm not sure what to make of this phenomenon.

Do you think it deserves further study? Or are you unimpressed?

MemeFaceClose.jpg

And how much blue is there in your wardrobe?


AtopyCamera.png

DividerBorder.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Camera divider and signature illustration by @atopy.

If you'd like to read more, you can check out a categorized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

I'm rather unimpressed. People change tastes. Some periods we like salty food, sometimes we like sour or bitter.
I used to wear blue when I was a teenager and nowadays I find it boring and a color to wear at the office.
What about glitter then?
I stare at people face no matter what and people get intimidated.
Hey, what about glitter? Shall I feel more festive because of that? :D
glitter.jpg

I am relieved and enchanted to find you are back. And you look dazzling!

Oh, how did I miss this post? OK, now I understand. You do make some risks, all right. This is fun. So much fun.

I'm so glad you enjoy the pictures!

I'm voting for more study. Then again, I'm very fond of Science Studies. How would you go about it? Take thousands of pictures, categorize them, then compare? A few of those folks don't look too happy either. But that may just be what sort of day they're having, as it is only a millisecond of their day you capture. And as you say, they probably don't really notice you.

Then again, some seem to be boring a hole through your camera and noggin with lazor eyes of disdain. I'm not sure. More study please, good sir. (I may pass this idea on to The Schteinn School of the Sophisticated Sciences, if you don't mind. They sometimes DO have an opinion...

Hmm, I think women have always been more perceptive than men, we nit-pick more, we care more about appearance, how things look, people look. I don't know why more women looked after you rather than men. MY first thought was that they might've thought you were a creep for taking photos of them, which could be the case, but then, men would look to...I don't know, maybe they just wanted to see what was up with the mysterious dude taking a picture of them :P
As for the blue, I agree...it's just a common color of clothing. I wear a lot of black and I'm usually pretty perceptive,so...:D

Women are going to notice more because they are used to every guy in the street being a creep. They're on alert for predators. You taking their photo is a big alarm.

Since we climbed down from the trees, we survived by seeing patterns and connections that no other animal can see.
Today, in our complex modern world, we still see connections -- whether they are there or not.
But, damn, some of those women in blue are absolutely gorgeous as they flash their lightning-filled eyes back at you.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-08T23:03:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 254.70/200.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Do you think that these women wear blue clothes every day? Or do you think that these women become more receptive only when they wear blue clothes? :)

You found the solution but where is the problem?

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05