Trying to take good photos, special effects and edits.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I can take what I think is a great picture, only to go back to look at it later to be disappointed. On the other hand I've also been able to turn an average picture into something special

IMG_20161116_213539.jpg

You really need to think about what your photo's purpose is going to be. Does it stand alone as it's own piece of art, are you trying to tell a story, or are you documenting an event. The pictures that you want to show will be different depending on their purpose.

If you read my blog you will know I like to do a lot of hiking and camping. It's really beautiful out there in the woods, but I have a heck of a time getting a good photo. Two dimensional images don't really do the many layers of leaves and trees and light justice. It's just hard to take a photo that can really explain to someone not there what it was really like.

I keep trying though and every once in a while I get something I can use. Here's one that is just so so.

DSC00270-01.jpeg

It's not a bad picture, but it's not a great picture either. I think it's nice to look at, but I was there. It probably doesn't mean much to anyone else looking at it.

For me, I encountered this river with the sun streaming through after hiking for 5 hours through dense forest in 95 degree heat and humidity that I would describe as thick. This site was like an oasis in the desert to us. I think this picture works best only when it has the story to go with it.

Let's try another one

This was taken in Monongahela National Forest.

DSC00380.JPG

Personally I feel that this picture doesn't need an explanation. This picture is just how I remember it, because I edited it to make it match my memories. The human brain has an amazing way out compensating for conditions. This day was Rainey and grey with clouds, but it also seemed to make the pine forest look amazing.

The camera, on the other hand, took a rather dull photo. So I edited it, mainly I brought up the color saturation to match what I remember. You are seeing what I saw in my mind rather than what the camera saw.

Here's two pictures where I did the same thing so you can compare.

20171022_135517.jpg

1516738842364.jpg

Then there are the times where I'm just playing having fun with photos and not going with anything true to life at all. I've have some fun things happen just playing around with various settings.

The sky was blue when I took this photo.

20161114_142049-01-1.jpeg

it was daytime when I took this, took away the sky and converted it to a two tone black and white.

IMG_20161113_151426.jpg

This was a happy accident that I now repeat this effect because it looks cool (when it works)

20180423_190954.jpg

My very not professional advice to others posting images here and elsewhere is to think about what the image means, not to you, but to those that will see it and decide if it will portray what you want it to. Don't be afraid to adjust and edit if needed, or sometimes just try again. Not all photos will turn out like you were hoping.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Waggy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29