Barcelona on film and discussion about shadows details (series of images)

in #photography7 years ago

Hello friends !
here the images from one of my visits in Barcelona - the city that always in my heart or maybe i leave my heart there. Anyway i always love to return back to the series of my photographs, digital and analogue, from different visits. Black and white series and also color like in these i featured in the post below. One of the most awesome details about this city for me as a photographer is a harsh sunlight that always create these long shadows and beautiful contrasts of geometrical figures created by shadows on buildings. I love to include shadows to my frames, to make them talking.

This series i took with Ricoh GR1s point and shoot film camera and expired in 2005 rolls of Fujifilm Velvia 100F still looks great in terms of vintage colors and status of emulsion.

Today i had a discussion with someone, who said that these images are very dark and the lack of details in shadows is too much contrasts and so on. I tried to explain about The Zone System and my dislike for HDR photography and finaly that somehow i do not care what is going in shadows but want to preserve the details of highlighted places.
And yes we were left with every opinion, but i got some interesting doubt that maybe it's only my is the one who love these deep tones of shadowed places ? What do you think about ?

Sort:  

Lovely pictures 🙏🏻 Personally I adore the look of film and in general dislike digital HDR, it just looks bad in my eyes.

same here :-))) thank you !

Barcelona is beautiful city.

Nice pictures @victorbz. I love film photography and the deep tones that you can gain from it. Modern day equipment just can't replicate that beauty and nostalgia. Keep up the good work.

thank you for taking a look and very kind words !

Barcelona is very beautiful, btw how did you manage to stay between thise birds and they didnt fly awsy, they must be really close to humans

yes these birds are very usual to passers by and if one don't make a sudden movements they just don't care much . Thank you !

nostalgic and beautiful photos :)
congratulations

thank you very much !

Lovely stuff. The mood in these photos is incredible. Love film! I am getting another film camera very soon so will be joining the #filmphotography hashtag soon. I brought my Canon AE-1 to Barcelona before. such a lovely city for photography.

Attached a few to this comment... note the similarity in the last one to yours! :)

indeed thank you ! i will wait for more with filmphotography tag !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87