The Beauty of Ice - Troll Falls and Beyond - Part2 📷

in #photography7 years ago

This is the second photoset after part1 of the awesome area I explored on the weekend at Troll Falls and beyond the lower falls up into the additional falls and canyons. I've seen some of this in the summer, but it was awesome to explore in winter with some waterfalls to climb and canyons to explore, that just aren't accessible in summer.

Note: Click images for full size versions

ImageText

Among the fun at all these falls, one I climbed was certainly a bit scary. It was high enough to present some exposure fear, but not high enough to seriously hurt you, so I figured I would take it and get up into the canyon, which is otherwise inaccessible.
ImageText

Just getting to where I can stand again and get up on secure footing. The microspikes I use, are certainly no crampons for ice CLIMBING, just for ice walking, so it was pretty tough and had to chip in foot holds into the ice with my axe. Good practise area though without too much danger, really.
ImageText

Once I'm on top, I send down the axes for my buddy to make his way up as well. You can see how steep it is now, a short close to verticle section, but quality ice at least for great axe holds.
ImageText

Much of the approach areas and creek runouts are flatter than the canyon section and they produce some awesome scenery and ice flows through the rock and trees. So much fun to explore!
ImageText

An amazing wall of ice, just asking to be hung from. I wish I had cramp ons to climb that one, but alas, the microspikes would never allow it
ImageText

This is one of the waterfalls I mentioned from last time, how the water is flowing down the middle like a giant straw. here you can see my axe at an open crack where the water is flowing from the falls.
ImageText

That same flow from the backside, its so cool, you can easily just walk around these amazing ice sculptures, that is, if you can climb your way up to these upper falls, haha. There are some alternates routes though, well worth exploring your way there.
ImageText

Another section we climbed up the river in.
ImageText

This is the main Troll Falls with all its ice flow. The main falls is about 7m tall but the ice flow all around it is at least another 7m.
ImageText

Was great to see the early morning sun, casting light through the ice falls. What a beauty, it was!
ImageText

For scale, you can see me on the right, setting up for another picture on the edge of the ice. A good time to be extremely careful !!
ImageText

And last but not least, behind Troll falls and the morning light shining in, shows off the awesome ice inside.
ImageText

Well, that all I have for this cool location. If you ever have a chance to visit the Banff / Kananaskis area in winter, its definitely exploring some of the falls, they are outstanding!


AutoSteem - https://autosteem.learnthis.ca

If you are not browsing steemit with nice photo galleries or using an autovoter then what is stopping you? AutoSteem does that for you, and so much more, so check it out today!

An automation tool for voting, curating and better browsing of Steemit!

Sort:  

hey thanks makishart, its was pretty crazy to all of this actually, and tons of fun. Thanks for stopping by to check it out!

Great photos @unipsycho. Thanks.

Just a quick question on your SteemWriter app. I used it the other day and found it to be just what I was looking for. I now wish to use it again. Does it save posts from my previous time? If so how can I access them? Silly questions maybe but please be patient, I'm new to all this. Thanks in advance.

Thanks maninayton for checking out my photos. For steemwriter, yes it saves your posts, just go back to the steemwriter app and the left side menu has an area you can expand called "Existing Drafts"

You can have as many as you want, or press the publish button on a draft and it will move it into the published list. Keep as many as you like. Once you get WAY to many to handle, you can export them to a local downloaded file (if you care to keep them locally) and delete any old ones you're already published then on steemit.

Thanks for the reply. I went back into the app but cannot find the post I published. Doesn't matter too much as I have a copy elsewhere. Another question then while I've got your attention. Do I have to go into the app centre everytime to open SteemWriter or is there a quick link type way of doing so?

If you pressed publish in steemwriter, it will move the post under the left side under "Published Posts" but should still be there.

Also, you can simply bookmark: http://autosteem.learnthis.ca

The post isn't there - I'm suspecting it is something I may have done wrong. Anyway I will try again and hopefully all will work out. As for the bookmark: I was just wondering if there was anyway of having a direct link from my Steemit homepage (the one with the wallet and comments etc on). The browser bookmark is a plan though.

steemit doesn't have links or anything you can add yet anywhere, so ya, the browser bookmark will have to do! Enjoy!

Thanks for your time @unipsycho.

Interesting and beautiful!

Amazing ice fall! Really great adventure! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks tangmo, its certainly was a great adventure!

You're welcome! :)

Amazing! This should be exhausting for the arms, I guess.

Yes, my smile was with gritted teeth actually, for that very reason. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75