Melted Crayon Shapes

in #photography6 years ago

We made melted crayon shapes!

We definitely had some fun, but it wasn't the easiest project!


I followed the instructions from this post. 



We gathered our old and broken crayons.



Then we peeled the paper off. 

This part was difficult because most of the paper was really stuck down and I had to really use my thumb nail to pull it off, thus getting chucks of crayon stuck underneath my nail like bamboo torture. But we moms go through pains to have fun with our kiddos, right? :)



Then we broke all the pieces and divided them into silicone molds.



We baked them for 15 minutes at 230 degrees F. 

They may look like they aren't melted enough, but don't bake them longer. If you do, they'll be too hard to color with. (My friend discovered this to be true when she put hers back into the oven when she thought they weren't melted enough. She also used off-brand crayons; not sure if that had anything to do with the hardness, though). 



Tip: put the silicone pans on a cookie sheet when you put them into the oven. I didn't do this and they were difficult to pull out of the oven with oven mitts without dipping the mitts in the melted crayons. 



We let them cool for about 30 minutes and then popped them out of the molds. 

The silicone molds we used released the crayons easily, but there was a little crayon residue left on the molds that was a bit tricky to get off. I stuck it in the top rack of the dishwasher and it all came off fine. 





My little dude liked playing with the crayons more than coloring with them. 



They weren't super easy to color with (probably because of the shape of the silicone we used), but they were fun. 





I probably wouldn't repeat this project. I'm glad that I tried it, and my little man had fun doing it with me, but the result wasn't really worth the effort. (My thumb nail is killing me as I'm typing this, haha). 



It was a fun and unique project that I enjoyed doing with little man; the time we spent together was priceless. :)


All photos were taken by me using my new Nikon D3400!





Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing fun moments. Gives so much energy. Followed you for such beautiful posts.

This is a great idea. Going to try it on the next snow day with my girls. Thank you for the share

I hope you have great results!

why friend pakek nail open it, if pakek knife does not torture his hand, good post friends.

That was a cool project! But I totally understand about it being a one time event! I have done many projects with my boys that were only worth doing once!!! LOL

Haha, yes, this was a one time thing! 😁

Wao great thanks for sharing

This often pops up on my facebook or pinterest, I love having a 'real' review. Great tip on the overbaking, I was planning to try hearts for Valentine's Day!

I always appreciate honesty and bluntness, so I try to be that way!
Good luck if you try them! I would enjoy seeing your end result! 😊

hahaha, i want to eat them.

Haha, they did almost look good enough to eat!

I think I will have to give this a go even just the once, we have so many broken crayons in the truck and I reckon my girls will love it. thanks for sharing @uglysweater and great quality photos.

wow. this is so creative. i can only imagine how hard it would have been, especially the peeling part. result totally worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22