The Power of Photo Manipulation #1 - Two Kinds of Weathers In One Day

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Photo manipulation sounds complicated but it's what we do all the time - from putting a filter on to professional editing. This is NOT a tutorial. I'm just trying to show how photo manipulation/editing can really change the whole vibe of a photo, and hopefully give you some inspiration when you edit your photos.

We all have smartphones nowadays, since then, photography got pulled off its shrine. Everyone's phone has at least one app that allows them to edit photos, from simply slapping a filter or two on the photo, to fine tuning the highlights and shadows. Most people just use them to do some minor changes, but if you start to think further, the little apps on your phone can do wonders.

I took these two photos in the same day at the same place. The gap between each photo is about 5 minutes.

IMG_0804.jpg

IMG_0813.jpg

and they just look like regular photos, they look ok, but nothing is really popping. So I decided to do some editing, for the first one, I bumped up the saturation and vibrance of the photo, and added more contrast; for the second photos, I took away the blue tone and decreased the saturation, and bump up the vibrance a little, and put a cool tone filter on there.

Here's what they look like after editing:

Edited 2.jpg

Edited 1.jpg

The first one looks a lot more warm and it looks like it's an extremely sunny and nice day, and it makes you feel good, whereas the second one looks like it's a cloudy snowy day, and gives out a more mellow vibe.


Camera used: iPhone 6

Hope you enjoyed the post and the photos, and thank you for reading!
If you would like to check out my other work, please click here to go to my website.

All rights reserved. If you want to use the photo, please contact me. contact me.

Sort:  

Thank you for introduce me this skill, I think It's very useful.

Not a problem at all! Glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79