On the Other Side(A poem)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I am a Zimbabwean by birth and citizenship but I am currently residing in Cape Town, South Africa. My purpose of stay is to study but there are millions of my kinsman who migrated on economical grounds. Please read the poem below then I'll continue:

IMG_20170903_192407_996.jpg

The poem attached above is a result of what my eyes have seen weighed against what I thought beforehand. Whilst I was still back in Zimbabwe I thought life beyond borders is all classy and there was no poverty. That was only until I had to come see it for myself.

I have seen people sleep under bridges covered in plastics, some even ask for something as small as fifty cents. Now for some of those who migrated on economic grounds the disappointment has been too much on them. Some end up doing menial jobs just to survive. Whilst others hit a dead end and run out of options and turn to crime, prostitution and begging.

At this observation, the old saying "not all that glitters is gold" crept into my mind and came to this conclusion; THE GRASS MAY BE GREEN BEYOND THE FENCE BUT NOT ALL ROSY. Hard work is everywhere.

Sort:  


Hello. I'm Upped a new free upvote bot for Steemit. If you want a upvote just tag @upped and I will give it a vote.

Because I'm a new bot I am very weak (low on SP), so please help this bot by delegating to it.

As there are server costs to running this bot I am because a paid bot so keep me free by donating to me!

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89