Waiting for the People... or Waiting for the People to Move Away?

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I'm sure many of you have noticed how some people wait for passersby to move out of sight before they take a photo... Right? I used to do the same - I admit - but nowadays, I don't even bother.

On many occasions, more people make the photo look better. And here's a good example of it.

I was taking this photo and there weren't many people in the picture. In theory, that should give a fine photo, no? (At least, that's what I used to think.)

Well...

rhfmbe23zr.jpg

The photo looks fine, just nothing special.


A few moments after, I saw a teacher approaching and a lot of kids following her. I waited for the right moment... and I took another shot.

1knm6ggcuc.jpg

Even if the people aren't the center of the attention, I feel like this second photo looks a lot better. What do you think?


So, what kind of photographer are you?

When you're taking photos, do you usually wait for people to move away... or do you press the shutter and go along with whatever is happening at the moment?


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
Location#Vienna - #Austria
PhotosEdited with GIMP

View this post in: 1Ramp / Busy / SteemPeak / Steeve / SteemIt / PalNet


2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Interesting question @trincowski. "Out here" in the western U.S. there is a lot of wide open spaces and we are typically taking pictures of a beautiful natural setting. Which having people in it can take away from the desired effect. But, there at times when you want your loved ones in the photo, to preserve a particularly happy memory with them ...

Taking pictures in a city?! Well, we seldom have any interest in going there and if we do, we're just trying to get "in and out" as quickly as we can manage ... Haha ... 😉

That said, I do agree with you on the photos you took. That the second one has more of a human interest element to it with the schoolchildren in it. A more artistic mind might suggest it depends on "the mood" you are after and that determines what you want in or out of a picture. I'm not much of an artist, though ...

Ahahahah! Yeah, taking pictures in a city is a thing, too! 😂
Thanks for stopping by!

With people is the better one.

With or without people generally, it depends on the subject. Sometimes I wait for people to leave, sometimes I wait for people to arrive. It all depends. And when people see that I'm taking a photograph, some do the weirdest thing. They want to walk, but they can't and they stop to wait or they (almost) duck walk (which looks funny), because they think that I cannot take the photo any time I want to. They can't act normally and walk by if they see me. :D

Ahahaha. Yes, I have noticed the same thing! 😂

Thanks for your comment!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=waiting-for-the-people-or-waiting-for-the-people-to-move-away


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Of course, where there are more people - this photo is more interesting ))

Yes, I'm glad I waited for that moment!

This post had received 23.27% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Hi @trincowski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.222 which ranks you at #3079 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 3075).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 267 contributions, your post is ranked at #129.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

I definitely wait for people to move out of the frame but it is not because I think that photos are better without them. It's because I wouldn't like to find myself on someone's photo posted somewhere on internet. I know that many people don't care but I can't help it :)

When I go to a touristy place I go early in the morning when I know that there won't be many people around. But usually I don't choose places with too many tourists so it's not an issue :)

We're all in this life only for a short while. To appear on someone else's photo on the Internet should be the least of our worries! 😅

But I understand where you come from!

Thanks for your visit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86