What kind of Animal is this?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

5d34cb8e-de0f-46db-89d3-bbb80ef144af.jpeg


When I was in South Africa, I came across several of these chaps. It is a weird feeling to have an animal appear in front of you that you never knew even existed. At first I thought it was some sort of oversized guinea pig but upon consulting my web browser I found out that it was a Rock Hyrax, also known as a Dassie. They are found all over Africa and usually found in rocky areas, as the name would suggest. Though the appearance of these animals may not give it away, the Hyrax is one of the most closely related animals to the elephant. With two large incisor teeth growing out to be tiny tusks, just like an elephant’s, similarities also include similar teeth, toes, and skull structures.

Photographed on iPhone X.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I like your post and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit!
@photofriend upvoted you! Upvotes this week: 2 (max 5) / What is the hash-tag race?
@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86