Beam me outta here Scotty or change the wind direction!! .

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The Vog is Blowing in at my place with a vengence due the recent kileaua volcanic eruption on the Big Island of Hawaii. The lava made it's way to the ocean at around 11:00 p.m. last night. It wasn't bad this morning but another flow hit the ocean earlier today. So far there is no "rotton egg" smell yet. I hope hope the wind changes direction as I hate being cooped up inside. My main concern right now is if the whole section of the island where the eruption and flows are collapse into the ocean, It could possibly cause a huge Tsunami!! Also stronger earthquakes. The geo-thermal plant is currently not in the flow pathway but at this stage anything is possible.

I am trying hard to stay "out of fear" and am in a fairly safe location but I am still requesting your prayers for not only myself but the entire Island!

Just above my House!

Taken from my yard

Taken from my deck

T

Blocked the my deck from direction wind is blowing just to get some air as I have all my windows closed and will be pulling my shades in case of major earthquakes.

I am drawing up water in jars just in case we lose electrical which powers our water supply.

Just in case... I've also got an emergency bag packed with documents, crypto passwords, few clothes n hoodie laptop Kindle external storage... Just in case! I've got candles, flash light and ice...You get the picture.

Watch Live Streem:

Click the links below to receive updates on Halemaumau Crater Volcano Eruptions on the Big Island , Hawaii( Kilauea)

DOWNLOAD WeatherNow0 iPhone

DOWNLOAD WeatherNow iPad App

DOWNLOAD WeatherNow Android App

How To Help Hawaii Residents Affected By The Kilauea Volcano

The Salvation Army at 808-756-0306

AT&T has activated its text-to-donate line. To make a donation, text REDCROSS to 90999 — that will send a $10 donation to the American Red Cross and its recovery efforts, which will then appear on the donor’s monthly bill. Donations may also be made directly to the American Red Cross Hawaii Chapter through its website or by calling (808) 739-8109.

On Monday, Kolten Wong, the Cardinal's second baseman, set up a GoFundMepage with a goal to raise $200,000 for Hawaii Island residents affected by Kilauea's recent eruptions. His page has already raised $50,413.

"If you can help, no matter the amount, it will mean the world to those who have lost so much in such a sudden turn of events," said Wong in a statement. "We feel that it’s our kuleana (responsibility) to do what we can to assist our neighbors, family, and friends." "Let’s show the Big Island the meaning of the 'Aloha Spirit," Wong said. In the video posted on the GoFundMe page, Wong says raising funds for lava victims' disaster relief is especially meaningful to him because he grew up just miles away from Leilani Estates. That community, located near Wong's hometown of Hilo, has suffered the most devastation as fissures continued to open throughout the neighborhood over the weekend.

Please consider resteeming this post or create your own and add the links for steemers worldwide to donate funds to help these people who have lost their homes and their belongings.

"Let us in the steemit community show the Big Island the meaning of the 'Aloha Spirit" by donating to these relief funds and add your link to steemit.com.

What Is @familyprotection? What Are The Rules? How Do I Donate?

If you are concerned about where these funds are going, please take the time to read this post:

We are Family Protection, Keeping Families Safe, Together

Sort:  

It sounds like a hell of a mess. You are in my prayer my friend @thethreehugs. God save Hawaii.

Yep all heck has broken loose in the Puna area. I am sure the big Island will survive along with it's people as it has many times in the past. Still requesting continued prayers.

Sending you positive energies, Stay safe and if you have to leave do so in time. @thethreehugs.

Aww thanks..I already have a FLT for a couple weeks from now as had already planned to take a break from island life and do a bit of travel. I'll be fine as long as vog and Ash is all I have to deal with. Trade winds are suppose to pickup tomorrow so air should be a bit better. I'm more concerned about the the ones that are still in that area..

That's good. I will be keeping up with you. And I hope you post about your travels, sounds exciting. @thethreehugs.

Thanks and I plan to..

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-21T02:34:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 154.65/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 44
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wonderful and awesome photography .God save Hawaii..

Thanks my friend. Keep us in your prayers.

Sounds like you know what you are doing. Still sending you all reiki vibes 💯 🐒

Not really..lol I just know what worst for me plus when I worked for Juvy, they trained us for disaster prepardness. Just in case Mt. Rainer should blow. They learned from the Mt St Helen's eruption.

Good hear hear you appear to know what your doing then. Sounds like the right things. Lets hope the worst is over hey 💯 🐒

Update.. trade winds blowing most if the vog to the ocean. We we will be getting mostly steem and Ash from the crater

Update..the skies much clearer today but getting whiffs of gas fumes when step outside..No tradewinds so far today, so not blowing fumes off to the ocean.

Yesterday ash, today the smell of gas..and I've gotta head to town in a bit to get a filling on a tooth that hurts like heck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48