Reptile Zoo And Nature Centre

in #photography5 years ago

Yesterday I got together with a friend (another photography addict) from out of town, the plan was to just go on a "photo wander" and catch up. We wandered around taking pictures of some architecture and street shots, then came across a place that I have seen but had never ventured into. One of those places that you see and think I need to check that out! But for one reason or another, never seem to lol.

My friend loves reptiles so it was an easy decision on what we were going to shoot! We walked in to Rays Reptile Zoo And Nature Centre on Barton St. (Hamilton, Ont) and found out that instead of paying for admission we could donate non perishable food items for charity. We ran over to the grocery store nearby and grabbed a few things to donate. Getting to check out amazing animals and help a charity out in one shot, well that made for a pretty awesome afternoon!

The first shots I'm going to share are of my favorite animal that I saw that afternoon. A Monitor lizard that either saw me as a tasty meal or had some character and was intrigued by me lol I would like to think it is the later of the two. I went to the side area of its pen, where not many people where. To get a close up shot of its head.

IMG_0102.jpg

As you will read later in this post, eyes are big for me. Human or animal it is what I typically pay most attention to. This monitor's eyes blew me away! It was almost like looking into to the eyes of a very intelligent dog.

As I made my way back to the front of the pen, the monitor slowly made it into the water and came right up to the front plexiglass where I was standing.

IMG_0121.jpg

IMG_0135.jpg

The zoo has a surprising amount of reptiles including alligators, crocodiles, a variety of lizards, frogs and toads.

IMG_0074.jpg

IMG_0069.jpg

IMG_0013.jpg

IMG_9993.jpg

IMG_0212.jpg

A lot of my least favorite animals too lol, like snakes. I am not overly scared of them, I just prefer to keep my distance. Mainly because of their eyes. To me they have the eyes of soulless eating machines, creeps me right out! In my opinion the only animals with freakier eyes are sharks!

Quite a few species of spiders as well.

IMG_0240.jpg

IMG_0040.jpg

Along with the reptiles there was a good variety of other animals. Such as Marmoset Monkeys, Lemurs, a sloth, porcupine and much more!

IMG_0144-2.jpg

Video:

IMG_0249.jpg

IMG_0047.jpg

IMG_0043-2.jpg

I love animals (even the ones with evil eyes lol) and this nature centre is amazing! We left after a couple hours there and both will be returning. I highly recommend to anyone in the area or if you find yourself in the area, to check this place out! For more information about the center visit: http://raysreptiles.com/about-us/

Sort:  

Congratulations @terrywayne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28