Some winter photography

in #photography5 years ago

It's been a while since I've posted photos, and we're in that part of early winter here where it's not very photogenic outside. It snows, but not enough to stay and be pretty. The trees have shed most of their leaves, but not all of them, so they just look pathetic. It's starting to be cold out and no one has adjusted yet.

So I thought I'd show some winter photos from previous years, to remind me that better parts of the winter are still ahead of us.

St. Croix North View.jpg

This is the St. Croix River, just east of the Twin Cities, in December 2009. I remember this photo as being a pretty big deal in the advancement of my landscape photography; it has real composition, and strong detail that you can't really see in the online version, and good negative space. It's kind of bittersweet to look at it now and not really see it as anything special.

Sunset at Black Dog Lake.jpg

Black Dog Lake in Burnsville, MN, in January 2013. Part of this lake is kept unfrozen all winter by power plant waste water, making it an anchor point for the Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge. Mostly just playing with silhouettes here.

The Reader at the Alphabet Blocks.jpg

The Reader on Pilot Knob.jpg

The Reader at Bohemian Flats.jpg

A few winter shots from my series of environmental portraits of people reading, all from the winter of 2012-13.

White, Red, Green.jpg

A panorama from a local park, in the April blizzard of 2013, when I went out tromping on foot in weather that would have been a very bad idea to drive in.

Mackinac Bridge.jpg

Mackinac Bridge, December 2014. Still one of my favorites, with the silky long exposure of the lake water and the hard detail of the ice on the bridge piers.

Two Harbors Ice 3.jpg

Lake Superior ice at Two Harbors, January 2015. I didn't end up liking any of these enough to put in the portfolio, but they're still fascinating. Ice sheets form on the surface of the lake and then come in and shatter on the breakwater of the harbor, forming these structures.

These are all fairly old, as I haven't done any significant winter work in the last few years. I'm hoping to change that a little bit this year, but I tend to be sluggish and unambitious in the winter, which makes it difficult. Hopefully getting a chance to look at some of these will inspire me to get out and work again. I'll leave you with the best one: a panorama of the Mississippi River in downtown Minneapolis on the winter solstice of 2012, with the sun rising over the new 35W bridge.

Winter Sunrise.jpg

I keep a five-foot framed print of that one in my studio just to remind me of what things can be.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Your pics are gorgeous, Tim :D.
                   
That lake one looks like an abstract painting than real ice and water.

Awesome photography - cooking here in Australia and never get to see the snow :(

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

pretty cool selection :) Black Dog is my favorite but the ice structures in the Superior Lake makes a great abstract pic :)

These are absolutely gorgeous, Tim <3 I love the crispness, the colour, the composition <3 Wonderful shots !!!

I lived in Minneapolis many years ago for a short period of time. I recall it was already snowing in late Oct. That was a first for me.

Hi @tcpolymath!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.668 which ranks you at #1555 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1554).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77