You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wildlife Surprise / Überraschung

in #photography5 years ago

Yes indeed he was a magician with the camera now it is so easy I too use AV mode most often but every now and again I feel he is looking down on me and shaking his head and I switch to manual for a few shots I think that’s why I loved playing with the lensbaby the other day it’s fun but does get you back to the basics

Sort:  

I am honest: I am too lazy for the manual mode, unless I have to use it, eg when I take long exposures, but often I use shutterspeed priority, and let the camera select the aperture :)

These photographers have my full respect, and their images are far more worth than todays digital photos, and I don't mean money with that, but I do not want to walk up a mountain, when I can drive by car ;)

Of course, please have your fun with the lensbaby, I like these photos very much.

I know, I should play around with manual mode sometimes too, because I know, that I would still be calculating exposure time and aperture, while you already would have taken your photos 😉

Yes Photograhy back then was truly an art form and far more technical than it is now, As I said I mostly use Aperture. Mode sometimes Shutter priority and very rarely Manual and I wil admit when I use Manual I get a lesser percentage of usable shots, its so much quicker using one of the auto modes and hence why we both use them most of the time

And do not be sure of that I would be quicker, I do cheat whenI use manual mode and look at the histogram which does make it easier than what they guys did back then they relied on their knowledge of the light and what setting where needed

The Histogramm is important, but so many times I forget to look at it.
Photography was definitely art, and the photographers had to think more about every single photo. I see something nice, and when I'm lazy, I take multiple shots from different angles. I can shoot until the SD card is full, or until the battery is empty, but I have spare cards and batteries. I can immediately see, which photos are good, and edit them on the computer...
I don't know, what is better, the old way of photographing, or how we photograph today, but I prefer today's way 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I must admit I am a bit slack at using the histogram, actually I think having the day using the Lensbaby. Was got me looking at it more now but I do not know if that will last I think we have a similar style of shooting as what you described is how I mostly shoot as well, and also always carry spare batteries and SD Cards, mind you with 2 128G cards in the camera it would have to be a long shoot to full them up
there could be much debate about which way is better, but I to prefer todays way

My camera has only 1slot, where I have a 64G card. In my backpack there are several more cards with all in all about 300G I think. I also have 2 spare batteries + a powerbank, which can load the batteries a few times. That's too much, but who knows, I might meet Bigfoot or Elvis, and need all of my spare cards and batteries 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

again verySimilat I have a card holder in my bag with two 64 G cards and Four 32G cards, plus two batteries always topped up I relate the batteries every timeI take photos of the camera, but no Power pack, Which I should have I do hve one on mY desk that should be in my bag wil take care of that tonight so I am also in good shape Incase I ever bump into Elvis or Bigfoot one one of my walks

Yes, you never know if you might need these things.
I have been on a walk a while ago, when the card was suddenly full, what a surprise 🙃 and I had only the camera with me. So, I had to delete a lot of images from the card.
That was no problem, but not necessary. I have to say, that I leave all images on the cards, until I need an empty card.
Since then I have always the box with the cards and a spare battery with me, when I don't have my backpack with me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats true, I use to keep all images on the card till it was full but then I got caught out once, so now I clear the card after i have uploaded them onto my PC and backup drive so that whenever i he’d out i have an empty card or cards on the camera, I have only once come close to filling the 64G cards I was using, and only one of them at an event I shot so too 128G cards with spares in my bag should have me covered for most things, I have a little pouch on my Camera strap, that small enough to not be a pain but big enough to carry the small SD card holder i have and one battery, so if I ever go on a walk without my camera bag I drop a card and a battery in that, infact most days they are on my camera strap I just forget to take them out these days except to test and charge them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47