The Ladybird, the Ant, the Golden rule.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

If anyone is a wine drinker and knows anything about some of the best wines in the world, I am from the Barossa valley. Australian wine country. I grew up on the outskirts of the country, not the country proper but the town in which I was raised, can't be classified as anything other than a country town. At least when I was there.

I used to spend hours playing outside watching insects, especially ants, do what they do. I have never been one of those boys that would take delight in burning ants with a magnifying glass or such. I found it cruel and unusual. I however was always fascinated by how they managed to be so organised and move with such purpose. I was also interested in how they would interacts with other insects.

At times, I would watch two foes battle it out as one saw the other as food or perhaps, a gateway to food. Other times though, the same two types may pas each other by without even a second glance at each other. I wonder if it was a lack of hunger, laziness or perhaps they knew each other and had come to a common understanding. You leave me alone, I you.

It made me question nature and also the nature of us as humans. I come from a family that would be regarded as pacifists, at least when raised. The type of people that would not aim to harm others, regardless of their beliefs or backgrounds. I wondered when young, if this is a good way to be as no matter how I act, it doesn't ensure others will act similarly.

The golden rule only benefits those that come across it in others. For the person that lives by the rule may be attacked nonetheless. I figure that it is a idealistic hope that if we treat others kindly, we will be treated kindly in return. It doesn't seem to hold up at my experiential level though as there are always actors that would take advantage of such circumstances for personal gain. For some, the gain comes in the form of pleasure at tormenting what they see as lesser. Perhaps it is the boys that enjoyed burning ants as children.

Should their actions stop me though? Should I adjust accordingly and go eye for an eye instead? Eye for an Eye is related to the golden rule. Instead of, 'Do to others what you want them to do to you', it is, 'do to others what is done to you'.

I have yet to change my behaviour in this respect though. What I have figured is that I have become strong enough that even if I lose an eye at times, I can survive without. There is no reason to perpetuate cruelty or anger in this world. To support such action is to have working eyes but act blindly. Perhaps the magnifying glass should be used for something else.


These photos are from a farm cottage that we are visiting today. They were taken last year. Besides the entry photo, all have a ladybird and an ant in the frame, two that at a different point in time, would likely be adversaries.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

good one

nice post . thanks for share . Followed you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by invictus003 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Ahhhhh. The Golden Rule? It, or rather the application of it has not been profitable to me. In fact, this rule has caused me to question the validity of capitalism. Capitalism is a system based on profit and greed. This conflicts with the golden rule in my mind. Last month I gave away my car because of the golden rule. Color me stupid.

Capitalism is greed based and of course eventually eats itself and has to start again or innovate its way continually and ever faster to survive.

You gave away a car? If it was to a child of yours that doesn't count. It is to be expected ;)

Actually. I think it does count if your child. Hopefully they will look after you too.

well the ant is looking after his aphids while the lady bug tries to eat the aphids :)

Yes, I think the ladybird was full and the ant was lazy in this case.

These are very cool @tarazkp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12