9 months in the making [ Pregnancy Timelapse ]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This isn't Facebook.

I am not going to plaster pictures of my child everywhere, no matter how cute she is. I am going to on occasion though as being a father is very important to me and gives me a lot of the inspiration to do my best to try and improve our world, in whatever small ways I can. A lot of what I write is in a vain attempt to make her life a little better, even if I am not there for some reason to see it. 

My daughter also seems to absorb a lot of my camera time. She is very manipulative for an 8 month old and uses it to get what she wants. Food, toys, hugs. She is the devil.

The first post I want to give is a bit of a tutorial for anyone that wants to do similar. Essentially, I will say what not to do as I made several errors to get the best results. As a trial and error learner, errors happen by default.

Firstly, the results as my beautiful wife changed:

Ok. What did you think?

Things to consider and avoid:

1: Make sure the starting clothes have enough room to stretch. This is a challenge as too big will look silly early on, too small and they will have to be substituted. My wife wore some gym shorts and sports bra. Not good enough.

2: Control lighting. We took them about every two weeks starting in the middle of winter. The only suitable wall was near a window and the light changed massively. I didn't have a flash at the time.

3: Start early enough. Changes can happen fast and for my wife who is a bit of a microhuman, it started to show early.

4: Take photos often enough. These were taken at approximately every two weeks. That makes around 18 spins. I would have preferred every week but it wasn't possible with our work schedules.

5: Keep camera settings consistent. Based on lighting and other variables, the more consistency, the less post processing. And write them down if your memory is like mine.

6: Mark a spot on the floor and keep the camera frame consistent. Again, less processing.

7: Learn to batch process. See above.

8: Have fun with it and be patient as there are lots of hormones swirling about. Remember that.

I compiled the photos in Windows movie maker which was surprisingly simple and fast. It was the first time trying something like this and since we aren't planning a second child, maybe the last.

Overall, I am happy with the result and our little girl is gorgeous and growing into quite a handful by the day. Also, by some amazing freak genetic luck, all of her good qualities came from my side. 

There were many errors made in the making of the video but luckily, parenting will be smooth sailing.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

"There were many errors made in the making of the video but luckily, parenting will be smooth sailing." - Now we wait for parenting timelapse post and how it will end with "There were many errors made but luckily, grandparenting will be smooth sailing"

Just joking!

:)
Grandparenting is apply sugar liberally, isn't it?

And then leave swiftly as sugar rush hits so parents can have fun. Yes, I think you're ready for the job already!

Of course! Don't wait around for the spike and the crash.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29