The Rainbow of colors at the Garden of Glass Exhibit - Part 1

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A display of Craig Mitchell Smith's amazing work!


Click HERE for Full-Size Image

I finally got my chance to get to the Botanical Garden myself to experience the mind blowing glass work!

Even though I was quite anxious, it was better to wait for a day that wasn't scorching hot. It's one of the few times you walk into a building only for it to get hotter. What can I say...I'm a HUGE fan of air conditioning! Overall I snapped 300 pictures of the artwork and the plant life! Even picking out my favorites, there are WAY too many to fit into a single post...so keep an eye out for the follow-up's to this.

While most of the pieces were made by making smaller pieces that were attached in various ways (wires, magnets, etc,) some were larger, single pieces. Many were taken to the next level with colored lighting, some were static and some rotated from hue to hue.

All of the pictures in here were left at large resolutions, allowing you to click the "Full Size Image" links below to see some of the finer details.


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image

I really wanted to get this semi-circular sculpture's reflection to come through in the water. I think I pulled it off.


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image


Click HERE for Full-Size Image

And we can't forget the obligatory KITTY pic!! After a long, hard day of looking cute!


Click HERE for Full-Size Image




Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

Our Latest Episode: The Newbie Cast

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
This was taken by me using a Samsung Galaxy 6s phone.

Sort:  

Nice work

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 12.50 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @gwapology. Vote for Aggroed!

A normal garden turned into a fairy tell
What an awesome talent
Would love to see more photos specially at night

Some of my family went to this a couple weeks ago and got some shots after sundown. Just to let you get a glimpse at night time:
https://steemit.com/photography/@sykochica/the-garden-of-glass-summer-exhibit-at-the-missouri-botanical-garden

Great pictures and the cat at the end, you know your audience well. Is this a series you'll be doing?

Thank you!
With as many picture's I took while I was there (297 to be exact), I'm going to have to split this up into 2-3 parts for the sculptures and another 2-3 parts for the flowers and plant life. So I'd expect to have them all posted over the next week. :)

Well that's very exciting for me, cannot wait!! Thanks for not posting it all in one

I like you photographywork especially this pic, it looks like in the dinosaur age

All these pictures are so beautiful!
I love all the different vibrant colours complemented by the light that resonates gently.
To make it even better you have that adorable KITTY!
Great Shot

Good work, thank you!

Beautiful shots and post.

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

O wow, those glass sculptures and your pictures of the sculptures are beautiful.

Great shots. Reminds me of the Chihouly exhibit, but I seem to have misplaced my photos from it.

beautiful glass work.. I love your photos.. and the cat of course :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77