Gravel Roads and a Country Bridge

in #photography6 years ago

This was a sunny day outside of McLeansboro, Illinois and down one of my favorite gravel county roads. These long gravel roads have almost no traffic and a great amount of shade from the trees. This makes it one of my favorite places to take my dog on a walk during the hottest summer days.

Country Bridge

In my previous post, "Hitting A Back Road, Is That A Dead Fish!?!", I showed a tiny bit of the bridge out East of McLeansboro, but this one is West of McLeansboro. It has some very basic graffiti; names, dates, and short-n-dirty sayings. Something about graffiti always catches my interests.


A  graffiti railed  bridge on a gravel country road
(click for higher quality)

Over The Side

This is the brook that goes under the bridge. I was standing about where the red painted end of the bridge rail is.


The brook over the edge of the bridge
(click for higher quality)

Open Gravel Road

This narrow gravel road winds on and on through the lush woods.


A gravel country road
(click for higher quality)

Covered Gravel Road

This road's tunnel of trees provides great shade on the blazing hot summer days. I was walking my dog down this very portion of the road when a white tail deer jumped over my head. As you can see the road is a little sunken down and the woods end up on a higher embankment. The spooked deer made a giant running leap from the edge of the embankment right over my head, completely clearing the road, instantly making a second hop from the ditch on the other side, and was gone. It happened so fat, you could have missed it if you blinked, and sure enough, my dog had no clue anything had happened.


A gravel country road with a tunnel of trees
(click for higher quality)

This road has a great and enchanting 'tunnel of trees' effect. In an attempt to capture some of this effect, I took pictures as I drove, then stitched them together into this video experiment:


A Country Drive
(a separate post with a DTube video)
CountryDrive50.jpg
(click to view post)

Sort:  

nice

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:34:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 40.50/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70