A Scientific look at beards, or a look into a different World!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

Found some interesting information on beards. Thought I would post it, because it is interesting.

Maybe someone will get some use from it, I know I did.

This is me when my smart phone decided to use the wrong camera:

selfie.jpeg

I had never seen a scientific analysis of beards before, that was amusing. But they did a good job I disagreed with one of their conclusion, but the article is overall, very well done!

https://www.fatherly.com/health-science/science-of-what-beards-mean/?utm_source=zergnet.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=zergnet_3492581

Read and enjoy, it is a different look at the World for some!

:)

Sort:  

Hello!! Nice to see you!!! Won't click an outside link but have to say, my favourite beard on steemit is @revisesociology.. Maybe you blokes can all have a show us ya beard competition...

Posted using Partiko Android

I run Linex, but if there is a virus on the linked website, it shows me by calling it a bad script. It is a fantastic virus scanner, so the link is safe .

BUT you are right @revisesociology has an impressive beard!

I wouldn't know how to set that contest up, but it sounds like fun. You would need to set up guidelines on what makes a winning beard....

I had a sweet little six year old girl at church tell me (very seriously) that if I just eat a lot of food, I could be a good, Santa Claus!

So I guess I need to stuff myself with food!

:)

Chhers! Not quite as impreesive as your very fine beard though!

Posted using Partiko Android

We hairy faces, must stick together, ROFLOL! Only a very few are properly covered.

So, keep it trimmed, and throw away the razor!

:)

Looking like the boss, bro!

Nope, I am married, I haven't been the Boss for 41 years, ROFLOL!

But I do have a hairy face because she likes a beard!

:)

LOL...I hear ya. AND, mine has to be clean shaven most of the year, because mine DOESN'T.

ROFLOL! That makes a big difference! I decided not to shave on Christmas vacation, and when it came time to go back to work; she told me to let it grow.

I have been hairy every since.

Stay safe...and shaven; my friend!

:)

Well, I am getting away with a Fu Man for winter time...

Post it, we are after beard pictures here, ROFLOL! Glad you are are warm, and still safe!

Get some of her gal pals to tell her they like your beard...then you are in!

:)

lol...won't happen. Our three adult daughters are on her side.

WAIT! They are supposed to be Daddy's Girls, ROFLOL!

You have been out voted for certain!

:)

there is also some old knowledge (or beliefs?) that beard is playing role of some sort of an antennae ... connecting that person with all his ancestors and relatives (i.e. clan, tribe, lineage, dynasty)
and the longer it is - the better he is connected, sort of gets the access to all their wisdom, experience, perhaps some other things...

another study I recall was that beard helps men to be a better warriors too. can't recall exact source, but apparently brave GIs serving in Afghanistan (or in Iraq? or both) noticed that thing and once started keeping beards - saw that it does work. BTW all those muslim people in mid east and elsewhere - they still follow those traditions, especially who are in one way or another related or involved with military and such stuff...

Well I have antennae systems on my Ham radios, but I never tried to tie them into my beard before. I wonder if it would give me a greater range, ROFLOL?

I don't know that it would make me a better warrior, but I run security at church, and bad guys would have to get through me to hurt my church family! The beard may not make me a better warrior, but practice does for certain.

I sure appreciate our boys in uniform, and if They want beards, it is wonderful. They are people I respect and admire! If it gives them any advantage in combat more beard to them!

:)

yes, most certainly, range will increase by a lot! :D

Maybe so, but the antenna matching network might be tough, ROFLOL!

Might be a little scary to apply 250 watts of RF to my beard though....

:)

If you are a man..then grow a beard...it's the way God made you!!! :-)

GOD did do that, ROFLOL! So I will keep growing hair on my face; as GOD, and my Wife intended! So I am safe twice!

:)

Following what we should is easy sometimes, ROFLOL!

It takes at least as much time to trim a beard as it does to shave, but it is better to do that when I am wide awake, away from my skin with a scissors; than to scrape my skin, half asleep, with a razor.

So I guess the beard stays.

:)

Well said!!!

Thanks, beards can be fun. Besides it will mess with the face recognition software they are so proud of, ROFLOL!

:)>

haha! sir smithlabs which finding did you disagree with?
Oh, and how did you like your results this week in the League?
My internet was out for a day so I was shocked at mine.

Researchers suspect that this increased death risk is mainly due to lifestyle differences, because bearded men were more likely to be shorter, less likely to be married, had fewer orgasms, and were more prone to smoking.

The bearded Men I know of do not fall in this distillation.

I had trouble finding people on steemit, that wanted to talk. I started with RC Jail problems, and had to fight to find people.

I thought I would be lucky to be is the top 20. So I was surprised to place so high.Everyone must have had the same problem. My only salvation was that I am long winded. So third place was unexpectedly high!

You were on top as usual, even with the outage. I can't get that many people to talk to me....

I had one entire day with Zero replies, even though I was commenting elsewhere. Getting a little sparse here sometimes. But I am hard headed, so here I am. I only have 5 followers in Weku, but I had a lot more comments there.. I didn't get stuck on 49 there, LOL!

:)

haha! well in weku there is no restrictions right? do they have a number or rep system?
It is was down for me too, lots of days people just run out of rc so it sucks. But you're right, everyone is having the same problem.

Weku is like steemit was before the Hard Fork. There is NO RC Jail in weku. It is a lot easier there right now!

They apparently use steemit rep numbers to influence weku rep numbers, I am up to (50) after about 10 days. The welku dollars are about 10 to 1 with SBD, but I am at $21.5 weku dollars after 3 days of payout. It took me months on steemit to accumulate that much cash.

Did you notice how low the engagement league numbers were this last week? In the past I would have been lucky to be in the top ten; with the score I had, instead of third place.

SO when I run out on steemit, I go to weku. Works so far....

:)

yes sir that's a good plan. Do you know anything about the weku token?

The welku dollars are about 10 weku to 1 SBD. They are not on the exchanges, so I can Not buy them. Steem is getting pretty cheap today. I may grab some, that way I can loose some real money over the hard fork, ROFLOL!

Weku may even allow you to come over....
https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=smithlabs

MAYBE, LOL! You might have to apply several times to get a reply, they are still buried by Hard Fork business!

:)

sir smithlabs! You mean the hardfork is still driving alot of people over there from steemit after all this time?

Yes, people get tired of the RC Jail. They do not like looking at RC all the time to decide if they can answer.

I just blog until it stops working myself.

That is why SBD is down to below $0.50. People are selling out. Weku is converting one SBD to ten of theirs, directly.

The Hard Fork is still running people off, replies are slower here, I used to get 30 to 40 a day, now I am lucky to get 10. It will settle out, but it will be another six months. It is about balanced right now.

:'(

I have a bigger beard, am tall, married and plenty of benefits of being married so I hope this means I won’t die too soon lol

ROFLOL! That was the part I did not agree with! That part was a house of cards, and not scientific, so don't worry about that too much.

Good to hear about the beard! post a selfie; and let's show them some hair, LOL!

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85