From a little Christian town in Holland in to the Wide world #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Dear Steemers,

last year I went on a epic journey around the globe, and finally I found a way to share this pictures with people that are interested in some adventures while I get some money in return from it :D

A short story about who I'am, so I may encourage other people to take a big step in life and take away annoying hesitations.
My real name is Leonard and like I said, I grew up in a small Christian town in Holland with a lot of people who are not so open minded en wanted to stay in their little comfort zone.
Now I can imagine when you read this that my life sucked, but that definitely not the case. It just becomes more clear later in life that there is more out there then your own little life. So when I was about to Finnish my studies in mechanical engineering a friend of me came with the bald idea to go to Australia, and me being sometimes a little naive said yes and a week later we booked our tickets from Amsterdam to Singapore and from Singapore to Sydney.

But before we went really into the wild world we did some little travel training in Europe it self, we did this all by Train. Later on I'll post picture of my traveling in Europe, now I want to focus on what is on the other side of the this ball we are living on.

So moving on to the Singapore then, flying of Shiphol-airport (Amsterdam)

10582975_646123458818890_4790601480903823628_o.jpg
The nice part of leaving your home town is getting surprised by your friends, at the moment you are not even realizing you have them and the next moment they popup in your face :D. I'm the second guy from the right. bit of a unclear shot made by a with a smartphone.

The glass and concrete world of Singapore.
IMG_2012.JPG
Finally after a 12 hour flight or something like that we are in Singapore... And what you gonna do first when you come from a town where the highest building is the local spuermarket.... Right you go to some real sky scrapers..

Marina bay Hotel
IMG_2029.JPG
Second thing you gonna go for is the Marina bay hotel obviously, before I went to Singapore I saw on the Discovery channel how this master piece of engineering was build so it had a serious attractive force towards me.

Freedom
IMG_2052.JPG
Meanwhile the heat is trying to bring you down but the ultimate feeling of freedom is getting in to your veins. And other view on the sky-scrappers in the Marina bay.

On the top.
IMG_2093.JPG. but once we went upstairs there was only place in the swimming pool for people with the money in their pockets. So kind of a deception for the kids from the village. any way we had a super view over Singapore.

Next a few random views from the top of the Marina bay hotel:
IMG_2111.JPG

IMG_2105.JPG

IMG_2104.JPG

The engineering marvel from below.
IMG_2123.JPG
Wondering who parked his ship on top of those building ;).

Meeting the Gaints.
IMG_2133.JPG
On our way to the botanic gardens people asked if they could be on the picture with us. We thought we where normal but being Dutch means you are the tallest among human kind XD.

The botanic gardens.
IMG_2144.JPG
A view of the artificial beauty we experienced.

An unknown flower
IMG_2163.JPG
Speechless beauty in the glass box.

Exploring the streets and holes of Singapore
IMG_2196.JPG
To give the city some fresh green looks the came up with this hamburger like building with plant sticking out of the sides. In my opinion it looks great and it uses the spare space that is left between the concrete for green.

Food-court.
IMG_2209.JPG
Trying the local food brings you some cool new experiences.

Building and Safety
IMG_2219.JPG
A friend of me is inspecting the safety for the local laborers.

Deeper into Singapore
IMG_2248.JPG
Don't forget to pay attention to all the air conditioners they got out there. At this point its nice to mention that the extreme heat and humidity was pressing down on me. In side the most building the temperature is cooled down till 26C while the out side premature was 38-40C so a cold at this point was not far away.

Grocery.
IMG_2257.JPG
A friend of me bought a banana at a local food store somewhere in Singapore.

An other food-court
IMG_2261.JPG
If you ever gonna go to Singapore make sure you get food in one of the many food-courts-halls. Here you see real Asian food and see what the local people eat. And you got decent food for a amazing price.

Mentally preparation for the next flight.
IMG_1965.JPG
After 3 days crossing trough the cite we thought i was time for a ´fresh´ dive, unexpectedly the water was to warm to be called fresh. Never the less it was chillings on the beach.

IMG_1983.JPG
Like many people before me I had to climb this horizontal palm tree.

After we explored Singapore for 3 days we headed for Sydney for some more life changing experiences.
A little sneak for the next travel update.... Working on a old Sailing yacht crossing the ocean...

I hope you people enjoy this pictures, more are coming from my 1,5 years of traveling. Keep voting an let the good things come to you :D

PS. I NEVER had any bad feeling from making the decision to got traveling

Sort:  

Nice fotos - must have been a great cultural experience. Hopefully not too intense and you could enjoy. How long were you travelling?

Thanks :)

Naah only the heat out there was killing.
In total I was away for 14 months so still have some updates left ;) keeps me of the street ^^

Yes - I can imagine the heat took some getting used to. Nice sabbatical. Did a similar thing years ago travelled for about 12 month -amazing experience. Will look forward to your updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83