Where Eagles Fly - Trying to Produce an IMAX Nature Film Series Without the Burden of a Major Studio

in #photography7 years ago (edited)



Cougar Mountain at the entrance to Zion National Park, Utah

I write a lot of posts on steemit about my wilderness exploration and aerial photography. Most of you don't know that for the past 5 years I have been filming extensively throughout the wilderness of North America. That is why I have such an large catalog of imagery I pull from for my posts.



A Peculiar Dilemma

I need to ask you all for help please. I am trying very hard to self-produce my project. To create this production without the burden and shackles put on creativity by a co-production relationship with a major studio or production company. I tried hard last year to work with 4 different companies but they are all more interested in making me Duck Dynasty meets Survivor Man in the Sky!!!! They wanted me to fake airplane crashes, being chased by bears and wolves, getting lost in the wilderness etc.

I'm sorry but I am just too old for that crap and I am pretty good at what I do so I take this prospect quite seriously. After all, I am sincere when I post about being on a mission to raise awareness to wilderness protection and preservation. This is very important to me, and hopefully to you as well. It should be - we only have one planet!



Yes I am a Newbie ~ And I Really Need Your Help

I admit I am not really that into social media and before steemit I really never posted much at all. I'm sort of busy doing my flying into the back country, camping and filming thing.

You could say I have somewhat found my voice here on this platform. I use Facebook of course my facebook and my profile is becoming a "page" but that is not as rampant response as I thought it would be. So I need your help. I will continue posting these images of course but I need help doing this kickstarter fundraising thing.

I need not just advice but active help to do this. One thing I have plenty of is fine art photography. I am trying to raise enough money to do the production of the first documentary for large screen theatrical IMAX release. But I realize that raising $1.6million would be a very difficult thing to do for an emerging filmmaker so I am doing it in stages.



Official Commemorative Coin with Project Logo I designed

My Production Team

My production partner is Michael Sanders - look at his IMDB. We also have Dr Natalie Dawson, the director of the Wilderness Institute for the University of Montana on board as our resident Wilderness expert.

We can produce this, but I need to remain free of the confines working under other production companies and studios put on me. If you take a look at our website you can read all about the different levels of technology we are using to make a pretty solid set of interconnected products that will provide informative, entertaining and immersive content for years to come. You really should go check it out. I would love to hear what you think about it.

When you really think about it. I am asking you to help me put my life in danger to go fly over these remote and rugged areas in search of really awesome sights to film and bring back so that you can experience them! Trust me, the fun and pleasure is ALL mine. I love doing this.

But I don't appreciate the nuances of the politics involved when other companies hold the purse strings. This is dangerous work I do, and I need the freedom to make decisions without pressure from people and producers who may not have my best interest in mind.



At work in my studio in the sky

Ok thanks for taking time to read this and please hit me back with ideas, I will do whatever it takes to make this happen. Because these Images are windows into places you cannot simply walk up the trail and find.

For those of you who don't know my work please check out the posting on my profile beginning with my introduction post.

Thanks very much for taking the time to read this and of course...

yehaw

Sort:  

A Kickstarter campaign is a good place to start, but success all depends on how well you can leverage your personal and social networks. 100 grand is a big ask for a self-professed newbie to raise, but I wish you luck with it!

It sounds like you have a great team behind you, and a LOAD of great experience, so if I were you I would try to get Angel Investors interested, especially if you can do the sums and show the earning potential of your film. It would be an unusual project, which would already set you apart from the crowd, and you could point to your success on platforms like Steemit to show traction. You probably have more chance of raising money this way than through Kickstarter.

I am kicking over every single stone to see what comes up... that is why Kickstarter and steemit and facebook... my personal contact with people is somewhat limited. I am hopeful that this exercise will help find the correct path. Thanks for the positive comments!!!!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75