Needle Mountains Skyline ~ Colorado

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Needle Mountains SkylineThis rugged harsh skyline is known as the Needle Mountains. This is a sub-range of the San Juan Mountains sitting high atop the venerable Rocky Mountains of Colorado. In this photo there are a number of 14'ners (peak with an elevation of at least 14,000 feet - 4267.2 m) and numerous peaks over 13,000 feet (3962.4 m).

Along the ridge line starting on the left hand side we have Pigeon Peak at 13,973 ft / 4,258 m, Turret Peak at 13,835 ft / 4216.0 m, Mount Eolus at 14,085 ft / 4,293 m, Sunlight Peak at 14,058 ft / 4284.8 m, Windom Peak at 14,088 ft / 4,294 m, Grizzly Peak at 13,428 ft / 4092.8 m, and McCauley Peak at 13,504 ft / 4,116 m.

This photo was taken late in the afternoon while I flew eastbound above Vallecito Lake while shooting the image looking north. I flew along low enough to be able to clearly see the ridge line along the horizon. It was -10° f / -23° c at altitude and very cold in the cockpit as I was shooting through the open window.

From "Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition"

Yehaw!

Sort:  

Too cold for me..great pic though. ;)

winter in the mountains... few months more to the next skiing season...

I truly look forward to it... every year!

Such a beautiful shot. So much talent behind the lens!

Very nice, Will be looking forward to your posts.

Up-voted :-)

RightWithin

Thank you for your support!

Just bout ready for things to cool off in CO once again as we enter the warmerest phase. Great shot @skypilot - I lost track of you as I think I followed you with my first account - now following with this one!

Thanks Timelapse... glad you are following again! .... yes I am all about the cold weather. I LOVE the cold

Very beautiful mountains!

lovely senery...

Wow you get the most amazing shots this range is so beautiful

Thanks Jay.... I am glad you like the work, that is why I do this! The Rocky Mountains are incredibly beautiful... from Santa Fe To the Denali ... and I am going to explore and film it all.

Great looking forward to seeing it all through your posts

This shot is "Hella" Milky 🍼

Stay #ILL

Open window, while in motion and at that altitude, your picture is impressive just because of that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84