Mexican Cry Mesa Looks Like an Ancient Fortresses on Another World

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

These sacred grounds are located on the Arizona part of the First Nations Navajo (Diné) Nation south of Four Corners and just over the ridge from Shiprock.  

Along the horizon on the left side of this image is the snow covered Chuska Mountains. These are an isolated elongate range on the southeast Colorado Plateau whose highest peaks approach 10,000 feet. The range is  about 50 by 10 miles (80 by 15 km).  

Moving right we see the flattops of the Sonsela Buttes and then the vast Lukachukai Wash Valley.  In the immediate foreground, the ridge line running horizontally along the bottom of the image is Kinusta Mesa. This image illustrates 3 different geologic formations, mountains, mesas and finger mesas and buttes.  

Place names given by the First Nations Tribes have meaning, usually  tied to an historic event. In this image there are numerous historical  locations.  

The fortress looking finger mesas are named:
Masacare Point / Rock  Pointing West / Rescue Rock Mesa / Eagle Nest / Tzelena Canyon / Shonto  Canyon / Red Mesa / Female Point / Thirsty Mesa / Mexican Cry Mesa /  White Mesa / Female Point / White Ask Peak and Sitting Coyote Mesa.  

I lensed this shot while flying and exploring the Four Corners Region in the late winder.


This image is another from my ongoing project in which I am  trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that  remain unpopulated wilderness.

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal   mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others   may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these  images to be part of your feed then follow me. Yehaw!!  

Sort:  

The way the light filters thru those clouds just amazing. You are right it does look like another world

I love the cloud formations in this photo against the browns of the land below. Just beautiful.

I too love that juxtaposition, it makes for a very interesting trick on the eyes.

It looks like some rain in the background. Those clouds are perfection.

The mesa is similar to the escarpment where I live. I actually live on an escarpment.

Thanks Country Girl, yes I like those rain clouds in the distance. Gives the image a very nice feeling.

How vast! so many formations, the checkerboard area
in the lower left is that natural or manmade I wonder.
Nice white pyramid in the upper leaf zone.
Truly outstanding lensing! Looks like a fortress for giants :-)

Thanks very much! I would think those lines are man made as nature abhors straight lines. I have no idea what it might be and it is very large as this image is a few miles wide. This is on Reservation lands so it might be trees planted as wind breaks but for what I don't know. I will see if I can discover what they are. The pyramid looking structure is a mountain peak.

This is one of my favprite geology related blogs on Steemit! (There's not enpugh of us posting about geology on here.) Love all your photos, keep up the good work!

Hey Thanks so much! I find your blog fascinating! Good stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17