Beautiful Afternoon over Red Rock Valley

in #photography7 years ago

Red Rock Canyon National Recreation Area  is located just to the west of Las Vegas Nevada.  The hill on the left side of  this image is called Blue Diamond Hill and on the right side of the valley is are the Red Rock Cliffs Bridge Mountain, then left of that is Rainbow Mountain and Mount Wilson followed by the Sandstone Bluffs. 

Red Rock is a place very popular with climbers who love to  practice on its many cliff faces scattered throughout the park. The  highest point is La Madre Mountain, at 8,154 feet (2,485 m).   

In the distance along the mountain line is Mount Potosi and all of  these are part of the Spring Mountains. 

The following is from this Research Source:  

 The first humans were attracted to the Red Rock area due to its  resources of water, plant, and animal life that could not be easily  found in the surrounding desert. Hunters and gatherers such as the  historical Southern Paiute and the much older Archaic, or Desert Culture  Native Americans, have successively occupied this area. 

As many as six different First Nations Native American  cultures may have been present at Red Rock over the millennia. The  following chronology is an approximation, from the present to ancient  pre-history: 

 · Southern Paiute- 900 to modern times
· Patayan Culture - 900 to early historic times in the 1800s
· Anasazi - 1 AD to 1150
· Pinto/Gypsum- (Archaic) 3500 BC to 1 AD
· San Dieguito - 7000 to 5500 BC
· Paleo-Indians (Tule Springs)- 11,000 to 8000 BC.  

 Numerous petroglyphs,  as well as pottery fragments, remain today throughout the area. In  addition, several roasting pits used by the early Native Americans at  Red Rock provide further evidence of human activity in the past.
(Research Source)  

This is another image from my ongoing project in which I am  trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that  remain unpopulated wilderness.    

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround  us.     

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me.  

Yehaw!!    

Sort:  

What a great shot, again! I really enjoyed your article which taught me a part of history I wasn't aware of yet. Thanks a lot for the education.

As soon as I read the title of your article, I simply had to click on it, as I did climb in there myself, many years ago. This remains one of the most beautiful area I have ever climbed in.

Namaste :)

Thanks Eric, good to hear from you. I love Red Rock, what an awesome place... and even the ski area on Mt Charleston... also really nice. Thanks for your continued interest and support and Namaste :)

No one has to twist my arm to follow your work, it is consistently excellent, on top of being of great interest to me.

Namaste :)

Hey @eric-boucher , if you want to see ancient art please see in blog post

https://steemit.com/art/@kumawatamit28/historical-art

Do upvote and appreciate if you like it

Thanks @eric-boucher for your great Comment I also appreciate your comments 👍👀

Oo awesome :)

So awesome the views are killing me so amazing

Thank you so much! Glad you are enjoying them and please stay tuned as much more to come!

Nice, there is so much energy in nature.

What a wonderful statement! Truth!!!

Please see my post and help in saving the ancient art
https://steemit.com/art/@kumawatamit28/historical-art

Do upvote and appreciate if you like it

Red rock canyan area.... A big UpVote. What a lovely lovely picture. Are you a professional photographer?

I am a professional photographer and travel lover so i visited 83 countries till now so i have started my bkog to share my beautiful photoshoots moments and travel experience. I hope you like it.

This pic is very beautiful.

Thanks so much for the kind words. I don't really call myself a pro as I only do this for myself and this project. I looked at your work and you are truly a pro out doing what you love to do. Great you get to travel so much! Good luck with everything.

Wow what a great picture and write up. Very interesting and incredibly beautiful. It kind of looks like a dried up river bed. Very cool.

Amazing!!

Amazing Shot @skypilot. I saw some articles about Red Rock Canyon National Recreation Area. May be one day I will visit there.

Oh I hope you get a chance to, it is an awe inspiring place!

Awesome, great !!!!

Keep up the good work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48