What is that on the back of that trailor?

in #photography5 years ago

26mtqonvmu.jpg

On my way home last week I was approaching this and was wondering what in the world it could be? I drive this way all the time and have never seen this before.

Well did you figure out what it is yet? I'll give you 2 seconds to guess!
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Time's up! Now you can tell what it is...a sweet looking canon!!!!
ngqtv6xklf.jpg

Lets say that there was no way I was going to pass this up without taking a picture!

Did you guess correctly?
What is your theory? What do you think they do/did with it?

Leave me a comment!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for your support!

Looks like you are about to get a canon ball through your windshield. As far as what they do with it... shoot rebels of course, haha ;) (or Yankees depends on where you are from)

Yeah...that was surprising to see!!! And I'm in Illinois so that should tell you who we are shootin at!!

Yea I did think it was a cannon. Maybe the driver has had enough of people tailgating lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Tailgating!!! Now THAT is a great guess!!!hahaha

Nice picture. I wonder if these are purely for decoration or if they are used as part of a reenactment. I can't see whether the end of the barrel is open or closed off.

Posted using Partiko Android

My guess as well was reenactment, thanks for leaving a comment! Oh and I zoomed in to the barrel..here you go!
qou41jexf6.png
I looks like there is a tab there that can be screwed off or at least removed, so yes I am guessing it could be fired!

Cool - thanks for the zoom in!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I saw the cannon part first, but didn't notice the wheels, so I wasn't quite sure. Maybe they are trasporting it somewhere to put it on display for the public. Or maybe they inherited it and are going to have it restored!

I like you guess of putting it on display!
Thanks for guessing! How are things in your neck of the woods?

We got a couple inches of snow Thursday night/Friday, but it didn’t stick around too long. Other than that, we are still waiting for the big snow piles left in our yard to disappear. This week is starting to get into the 50’s and 60’s, so it shouldn’t be too much longer.
I’m also doing some last minute preparing for Passover this weekend. I’m hoping to be a little more put-together than I was last year lol.

I have been enjoying some warmer temps UNTIL yesterday when I got 2-3 inches of snow!!!! AHHHH!!!! I plan on doing a post about it later today.

Have you settled on a calendar? I will be doing Passover this Friday, with First Fruits on Sunday!

I have. I’ve settled with the John Deere tractor calendar hanging on my wall :D lol. Unless I’m convicted with something else later, I’m going to go along with everyone. I was a little confused at first, since it says “first day of Passover” on Saturday, if that meant Friday night or Saturday night? But we’re doing Passover Friday.

John Deere tractor...LOL, now THAT was funny!!!
I agree with you assessment in how you are doing the calendar.
I'm still sticking with my Judah brethren!

Genesis 49:10 The scepter shall not depart from Judah, Nor a lawgiver from between his feet, Until Shiloh comes; And to Him shall be the obedience of the people.

I as well will be doing Passover Friday night because you did read it correctly. Since God's days start at sundown the first "day" so to speak is on Saturday!

Have a great Passover, 1st day of Unleaven Bread and then First Fruits on Sunday!

Thank you! And same to you! Do you have anything planned?

I was at a public Passover on Thursday, then did my own Passover, then Sabbath with the congregation then on Sunday the congregation gathered together for First Fruits. Long couple of days but with good weather and friends it was a very joyous time! What did you end up doing?

Howdy sir simms50! that's a great shot and a very cool canon. It looks more recent than Civil War era though, more like WWI. Pretty unusual with the double axle and double sets of wheels. If I had time I'd try to find a similar one online.

Your comment here reminded me that I know a guy who does some reenactments....I need to see what he thinks!

howdy today sir simms50! oh yes, sounds like someone who is an historian!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98