Jungle Nightlife of the Cameron Highlands (Malaysia): A Photo Tour

in #photography6 years ago

1745 (2) edit (Custom).jpg

I'm no expert with a camera, but I bought an old used DSLR a couple of years ago and I like to play around with it once in a while. I've written here and here about my two month internship in Terengganu, Malaysia. What I didn't mention was that about halfway through the internship my wife came to visit me and we headed off for a 10-day vacation.

My wife and I are both biologists and nature lovers, so we had intended to spent most of the vacation time at one of our favourite places: Taman Negara, the oldest jungle in the world (click here to see a video that I took there of a massive spider eating a caterpillar while it's still thrashing around). But this time my wife was 6 months pregnant and the heat proved too much for her, so we instead spent most of our time in the comparatively cool climate of the Cameron Highlands.

1147 edit (Custom).JPG

The Cameron Highlands are very popular with local tourists and are known for their tea plantations, strawberry farms and having the highest concentration of Land Rovers (per capita) in the world. It's impossible to walk down the street without seeing 5 Land Rovers. They also have plenty of tasty Indian food. I could happily spend months there, just sitting around all day eating Indian food until I explode.

The Highlands are, as you might imagine, in the mountains, and as such there are a number of somewhat-maintained jungle hikes that tourists can embark upon. We checked out a couple of these during the day,found a promising one, then headed back to town to enjoy some nice Indian food and wait. Once darkness settled in, we grabbed our cameras and headed back to the jungle trail we had picked out.

Even during the day you can see some pretty cool things in the jungle. But once the lights go out, the creepy crawlies start to party.

Here is a small selection of my favourite pictures:

1656 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
This monster cicada was the first creepy crawly I found. It was hanging out on the sidewalk, before I even reached the jungle trail!

1630 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
It may not be clear on the picture, but this spider is enormous. If you look closely, you will notice two of it's legs are different from the rest. That's because it lost them and then grew them back!

1615 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
This spider has a very strange looking body and appears to be holding an egg sac.

1688 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
Stick insects are well named and can be very difficult to spot.

1737 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
Don't mess with centipedes. They are venomous predators. You won't die from a bite, but it can be quite painful.

1745 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
This beautiful weevil was one of my favourite finds.

1764 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
Mating moths with glowing red eyes.

1824 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
This butterfly looks like it's on fire.

1808 (2 edit2) (Custom).jpg
Predator and prey.

1782 (2) edit (Custom).jpg
I found this gorgeous lizard near the end of my hike. He's not camera shy.




I hope you've enjoyed this little introduction to jungle night life. Don't forget to upvote, comment and follow me. You are also welcome to resteem!



Related articles by me that you might enjoy:

Doing science in a developing country: my 2 month internship in Malaysia

Enormous spider eats a live caterpillar: night time in the Malaysian jungle

Two months in the Islamic heart of Malaysia

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 4.387490 lat 102.399788 long Jungle night life of the Cameron Highlands (Malaysia): A photo tour d3scr)

Sort:  

Pretty cool pictures. Thanks for posting this.

Thanks for the compliment!

wow, what a great selection of bugs.
I went in the jungle in Ecuador, but was not that lucky finding night creatures, the only one found was a big tarantula hiding in a tree hole.

Wow, I'm surprised. I would have expected a LOT of jungle night life in Ecuador.

Actually I wasn't finding much in the beginning either, but after hours of careful scanning and looking under every leave I finally started to get lucky.

Maybe I scared them all :)

Haha, maybe!

Great pictures! I would like to go to Malaysia!

I recommend it if you get the chance. It's a great country!

The photos are excellent, so sharp. Which camera lens do you used for it?

Thanks. The camera is a Canon EOS 1000D with the standard lens (I attached a cheap macro filter for the close-ups). I sharpened the pictures a bit using FastStone Image Viewer.

Oh, I would have thought you used any of these expensive macro lenses 😅
Really great results! 🙂

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shawndove to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=shawndove
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=jungle-nightlife-of-the-cameron-highlands-malaysia-a-photo-tour


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 0.68 % upvote from thanks to: @shawndove.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.

Before sending a transfer to @minnowhelper, verify that your publication meets these conditions (http://www.minnowhelper.com/conditions.php). After the transfer is made, no claims will be received.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

This post has received a 2.04 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shawndove.

i happy with your post ! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88