B&W Photo Contest Entry 2: Incredible Eggs! 🥚

in #photography6 years ago

I'm having fun entering photography challenges on Steemit the last few days, so I'm submitting my second entry to the B&W Photo Contest hosted by @daveks


This week's theme is food. On the one hand it seems superfluous to make this entry at all, because I'm pretty sure I entered the winning shot yesterday, but on the other hand it's all fun and games so here we are!

Thanks for judging the contest this week, @everlove

These are eggs fresh from the @gardenofeden chickens:



Food is relatively difficult to photograph in black and white, because a vast majority of its appeal comes from the color! Nonetheless, I think this is a great photo because it's so marvelously geometric and balanced. Patterns are very satisfying to me! The shapes and light are quite pleasing.


For funsies, here's a bonus shot of some of the ladies who produced these fine, wholesome specimens:



Our chickens are big contributors to the tens of thousands of free meals we give away every year at the @gardenofeden! Not only do they gift us with healthy food every single day, but they also nourish the soil and eat bugs from the plants as well as kitchen scraps so we don't have to make trash. Thanks, hens!  

And of course thanks @quinneaker for giving me a home at the @gardenofeden where I and others can do nice, valuable things with our lives. 

And thus concludes my second entry. 








💛 Sara!

Sort:  

Sara, you are so incredibly gentle and sweet in your descriptions on your posts.
Reading your blog has an incredibly calming effect 😌
Have a beautiful weekend 😊

I'm happy to spread some peace on the blockchain! I usually don't post when I feel super feisty. Thanks for coming by and leaving some nice words. Hope your weekend is lovely too! 💛

I actually quite like this photo. In a way its about as boring and generic/normal as a photo you are gonna find yet its simply appealing.

I agree! It's a very satisfying shot to me too. Thanks for the comment & constant support!

photography is unique for steem posting.

Do you mean THIS photo is unique? That's true, it's my own @originalworks

As such something always becomes something so beautiful if you know how to take a picture. Beautiful image

Love the chickies! I am always very grateful to my hens for the eggs that they provide for my family :) And all the help they give in the gardens is a great bonus, though they will eat my veggies if I'm not careful!

Mmmmm yes chickens are so beneficial to a sustainable homestead!! And they're really sweet little animals, very nice to be around. We have to keep them out of the strawberry patches and some other areas too, but even when they control the bug populations in only the "wilder" parts of the property, it's still helpful for reducing bugs overall! Yay for chickens!! So glad to hear you love yours too, @amymya!!

I totally agree, very nice to be around! I have one hen named Scully who is like a lap chicken, very friendly and super vocal! It's like she's saying hi as she runs to greet you :) So cute! Not to mention when we hatch out chicks... Cuteness overload!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 02:12:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 20.65/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

you nailed this b&w with the eggs my dear! form, shape, light, shadow- they look like individual planets or moons in an egg carton hehe- maybe that's how the gods store the universe ;)

Thank you! What a poetic sentiment 💛💛💛

What can I say, eggs inspire me!

I love that bold statement:

I'm pretty sure I entered the winning shot yesterday

That was a pretty epic photo!!! And so is this one. We'll just have to wait until about this time tomorrow to see!! So glad you've entered and are supporting this contest @saramiller.

And oh.....such sweet and adorable chickens!

They're some lovely ladies!

💖

I love you Noki!!!! 💖💛💖💛💖💛💖💛

good photo, the hens had sleep hehe

Hahaha, yes they are clustered together on their little roosting bar where they like to get some rest. 🐔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31