Lentils - Warming, Delicious, Low Cost Natural Medicine ๐Ÿ’›

in #photography โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem Fam!

It has come around to that time of year when if you are not in the sun then you feel chilly in the shade. For this reason I found myself cooking up some spicy lentils and wholewheat bread. There is nothing nicer than bread, still warm from the oven with butter just slightly melting on it.

My lentil dish is flavored with diced onion, garlic, carrot and celery, fresh roasted and ground cumin , tomatoes and lots of bay laurel with just a splash of organic cider vinegar. Topped with fresh picked parsley!
Itโ€™s as good as it looks believe me!

A33BD052-4298-4BD3-8DF1-595E59E454E9.jpeg

E005B42E-156E-4111-A211-BDBEE92966BF.jpeg

AF48ED64-AB90-421E-86FA-EB5B2CCD4A11.jpeg

78BE034F-8273-4650-9119-4779D080198B.jpeg

Lentils are not only delicious but they are exceptional natural medicine. They are an impressive source of nutrition and have numerous health benefits.. When you eat less, yet feel more satisfied by it you know you are eating highly nutritious food.
Lentils boost energy, support weight loss, regulate blood sugar levels, lower cholesterol levels, decrease the risk of heart disease, maintain blood tonicity, promote intestinal regularity and prevent cancer.
Lentils have massive amounts of minerals, vitamins fiber and protein. They contain folate, copper, phosphorus, potassium , vitamin B6, manganese, iron and small amounts of selenium.
They support healthy pregnancy too as they are high in folic acid which ensures good brain development, guards against birth defects, Spina bifida and premature delivery.

There are various different types and ways to enjoy lentils ..... how do you serve yours?

Wishing you good health and happy days! โค๏ธ

Namaste

Sort: ย 
ย 5 years agoย (edited)

Thanks for the reminder about the wonderful lentils!
I just think what dish to cook delicious and healthy!
And your photos are great!

Thank you very much, I really appreciate your comment. โค๏ธ๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ€

I loove lentils :) thanks for sharing the recipe, looks delicious

Good to read your comment thanks.๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ€

We usually ad them to soups... we're kings of left overs in my home, and in winter time we usually make soups.

I aslo like my lentils as a salad

Mmm I agree they make tasty salads too - so versatile, lentil burgers and lentil lasagne are also yummy ๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿฆ‹โค๏ธ

Oooh lentil lasagna... yeah sounds good too

Buenas fotos e informaciรณn. Uso mucho las lentejas. Cuando tenemos mucha nieve por aquรญ, hago un guiso de lentejas con zanahorias, jamรณn y unas cuantas ingredientes mรกs.

Muy bien. Muchas gracias amigo mรญo ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ€

very good photos and post ... thank you very much

Thank you very much for your great comment and support, I appreciate it ๐Ÿฆ‹๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ€

look so yummy and delicious. Namaste!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ€

Wow, such steemy (see what I did there ;) ) soupy goodness you've dished up for us today @sallybeth23! Delicious. Homemade bread too! What a treat.

I love love love lentils so this type of dish is right up my alley. I am inspired by your use of cider vinegar, I will definitely be adding a splash to my next lentil soup to take it to the next level! Thank you for sharing your yummy cooking!

Haha @gardeningchef STEEMY STEEMTASTIC indeed! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Beynd the lentils medicinal qualities organic cider vinegar is truly amazing for your health so itโ€™s an extra splash of good health on top. Thanks for your support and awesome comment. ๐Ÿฆ‹๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ€

Say no more then - lentils and organic cider vinegar will be making their way into my body ASAP! Thank you for sharing your health knowledge with us :)

My pleasure @gardeningchef, thanks for your enthusiasm! โค๏ธ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ€

The whole thing really looks delicious, and that bread is looks really awesome. Nice pun @gardeningchef

This is really making me hungry since I'm just about to make some lunch and this looks amazingly delicious.

Great to hear from you my friend! Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. May I suggest lentils for lunch? ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ€

Lentils is a compulsory dish for athletes. Iโ€™m including it always in a weekly basis.
Easy to cook and delicious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is very good to hear Eddie! Thanks for that fabulous comment. ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ€

That looks so good! I've been wanting to cook up a soup with lentils as the star of the show. I've been putting it off because things have been so busy lately but your picture looks so delicious that it's motivating me to do it as soon as possible.

Thanks for sharing!

Aawwwww what a lovely comment!! Thank you SO much! Enjoy your lentils my friend. ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒˆ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28