Jungle Daily - Fruit Tree Planting For a Diverse Food Forest

in #photography6 years ago

DCB99602-545C-4A10-B7FF-759008DE7FCB.jpeg

My first tree to be planted today is a Rose Apple or Water Apple sometimes called. It is a wondrous spreading tree that produces pear shaped red fruit that have the taste of roses.

101E8450-6AB6-4EEB-8755-301DCF837A0B.jpeg

Next was this beautiful orange tree. I am planting these trees on a steep slope so I make the hole deeper than necessary by a few inches so that rain water can collect and water them sufficiently rather than running straight past.

295D94F4-EAC3-4D9B-9985-EEF02B3DDE5E.jpeg

The soil seems quite sticky and clay like in places but there are loads of these healthy earthworms so I know it s great soil to grow in. Earthworms only live happily in good soil and they are hugely beneficial by aerating the earth and feeding it with their droppings ( casts ). They are always a most welcome sight to experienced gardeners.

797BC8EB-277E-404D-B4DA-46C5E0767640.jpeg

Next to be planted was one of three soursop trees aka guanabana, one of my favourite fruits. They have an exceptionally good taste, a cream and pineapple cross type of flavor. It’s hugely medicinal too so buy one if you see one and plant those seeds!

FF1E8733-A266-4F8A-ADDB-2F8120FD03EF.jpeg

These are some young ginger plants sprouting that I planted a few weeks ago along the edge of my path to my compost pile. Coming along nicely. I just take pieces of ginger root too small and fiddley to peel and prepare in the kitchen and plant them instead. You can never have too much fresh ginger!! I use it to make iced ginger tea as well as adding to soups and savoury curries etc.

69C48FDA-3BBC-44FD-8924-694710C54CAD.jpeg

This turmeric is also sprouting and looking healthy. Another must have in the super healthy kitchen store cupboard . It’s a most attractive plant too with beautiful flowers as is the ginger so I like to plant as much as possible in small groups around the garden.

AE928C63-3212-42AB-A93C-3E0360A8B879.jpeg

B167373B-C93B-4133-875D-F8ADB4F1F750.jpeg

These beautiful fungi had appeared at the edge of my compost pile. Beautiful but probably inedible. Nonetheless a stunning and important part of our diverse and intricate ecosystem.

Next to be planted will be mango and avocado trees but they will have to wait for another day and another post.

Puravida......

Do not seek love. Be Love.

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev

Sort:  

The turmeric and water apple plants look really happy.

Rose Apple sounds delicious! You can grow so many wonderful things that would never survive in Wisconsin!

Thanks Melinda, whatever one can grow one should grow. Every region has its own gems and culinary delights and beautiful trees. That is what makes travel so interesting. The differences in region to region. I am sure I would be delighted with gardens in Wisconsin 🌈💛🦋🌴😉

Heated greenhouses can grow many exotic things that wouldn’t normally survive too if you have room for a small one in your garden who’s to say what you might be able to grow 😍

I live in the woods, with little sunlight and lots of forest creatures who love to eat the things I plant. Plus I have a disability that makes many things, including gardening, difficult. I do belong to a local CSA and let them to my gardening for me, so I get wonderful local organic produce all season long. I get my first box of produce for the season next week. I'll take pictures!

It sounds lovely out in the woods, I do love trees! Yes do show off your organic veg when the box arrives..... I am a vegetarian so love anything veggie 😉

Good for you. I still eat some meat occasionally, mostly because old habits die hard, I guess. During the summer it is so much easier and more delicious to simply eat fresh produce. I do post lots of nature photos, because I am surrounded by it!

Wow you have quite the fruit forest coming along @sallybeth23!! The rose/water apple sounds intriguing, I have never heard of or tasted it before. Is it able to grow anywhere or just the tropics? I'd love to try and grow it here on the med!

I had also never seen ginger or turmeric plants before - strange to say that as I use them in my cooking but never thought of them past the root part! I will try planting some ginger next time I buy some. Can you just plant it as is in the ground?

Wonderful and inspired gardening. Upvoting and resteeming this for my gardening followers to see!

Thanks for such a thoughtful comment @gardeningchef Yes plant ginger straight into the ground, keep it moist and warm.. I planted some successfully once in Spain 👌🌈💛🌴🦋

Rose apple seeds might work .... shall I try seeding you a seed? 🤣

Ginger wise - outdoor or undercover?

Yes I'd love a rose apple seed if you can send me one!

So a fruit that has the taste of roses, it's hard for me to imagine what that tastes like without actually experiencing it for myself!

And what type of climate does tge guanabana grow in? I would like to try that!

Yes a fruit with the taste of roses. It’s amazing I was quite taken aback the first time I tried one. I am in Central America in between Nicaragua and Panama so it’s a tropical climate. Actually deep in the rainforest. My friend in Thailand also grows them.

I would love to try both of those. They sound very intriguing! Im in Northern Illinois so I'm out of luck with growing them probably! Lol

Bet they grow fast down your way.

Fingers crossed 😉🦋🌴🌈💛

Very good idea! You are giving the forest animals more food sources!! We also have three roseapple plants in the garden with many mango trees. Avocado has taken a long time to grow! I am waiting to see it’s fruits!

Have fun with gardening!

That’s excellent. Mangos are another favourite of mine. Yes avocados are slow to fruit but so worth the wait. 💛🌴🌈🦋

wow Excellent photos. Love it

Thank you very much 💛🌈🦋🌴

skillfull hand! your photography skill is damn good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19