Photowalk Photography: I met passionate Photographers and got lost in the beauty of Bonifacio Global City

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hello Guys! what's up?

DSCF4056DSCF4056123.jpg

How are you all doing? Another week just started for us and I hope everyone is doing okay.

I was actually posting this one yesterday but one of my friend @johannjose says that his Steemit account just got approved. He dropped by at my house yesterday and I decided to help him in his #introduceyourself post.

He was a very good friend of mine and now a member of Steemit. I invited him here, I hope that he can share his thoughts, consistently provide good content here and also get support from you guys.


My 1st photowalk

Today, I wanted to share you my experience in my very 1st legitimate photowalk.

Yes I said it, my 1st legitimate photowalk.

Why? Let me tell you the story.

As some of you know, I started with mobile photography and then I decided to buy my own camera ( Fujifilm X-A3 ). Since then I have no friends that are in to photography so I have no choice but to do my own research. I searched about the basics, how to compose an image, how to edit pictures, how to use manual mode, what lenses should be used and so on.

Months have passed and I am comfortable shooting in manual mode and even using manual focus lens. I was able to shoot long exposure, freeze moment using fast shutter speed, portraits and many more.

I even thought some of my friends about basic photography and some of them are now serious in their photography game. They said that they appreciate the art and they were inspired of what I am doing.

To cut the long story short, I am a self taught photographer, no one teaches me back then. I only rely on Youtube, Facebook Groups, Instagrammers and different articles. No one is telling what's right and what's wrong.

I have been into photowalk before as you can see my post about Chinese New Year in Binondo Manila, and Neon Photography in Burgos Makati. These photowalk was lead by me.

I don't even know how to lead a photowalk, all I know is to walk around the place and shoot random things that you can see.


I got lost in Bonifacio Global City

One day, as I browse my Intagram, I saw that that one of the photographer I know is setting a photowalk in BGC wherein he will share his photography tips, post processing tips, and have some small talks with the people that will be able to join him as there limited slots only.

28721639_1844595612231585_1955989638_n.png

I sent him a personal message and replied to his story about it, I asked how to go there because believe it or not, I haven't been in BGC alone. I'm your legit provincial boy!

Luckily he responded and asked if I can join. I am thinking twice if I will join because I don't have a job as of now ( you can read my story behind about this here. ) and going there in BGC will be another expense in my budget.

I have been in to my house most of the time, I haven't used my camera lately so I decided to join him for the love of photography and for me to be able to go out and relax.

This photographer's name is Mac Medrano. I don't know him personally, we just followed each other in Instagram as we have the same niche and style but we have one thing in common, we are both using Fujifilm Mirrorless Cameras to shoot. He is a very talented and down to earth photographer, you can check and follow him on his Instagram.

The scheduled date came, I left my house around 3pm because it is still so hot outside, and guess what? Your boy was late due to traffic.

I missed his tips in doing photowalk, the do's and dont's but luckily I was able to get there when they started to walk around taking pictures.


The Pictures

I am about to show you the photographs that I took during our photowalk:

DSCF4007DSCF4007.jpg

This is the very 1st photo that I took, I tried to find leading lines towards to my subject which is the car. Luckily, Golden Hour is about to start.

DSCF4008DSCF4008.jpg

My 2nd photo, saw an intersection and this street framed with buildings, I tried to show symmetry on this one.

DSCF4009DSCF4009.jpg

3rd photo. This photo is pure luck, I was trying to capture the nurses while they are waiting for the green light so they can pass the pedestrian lane until 2 man walked in front me that serves as a frame for my subject, and in addition to that, the lane serves as a leading line to my subject. Now this photo shows how busy the this city is.

DSCF4011DSCF4011.jpg

4th, just trying to shoot some architectural shot but I realized that there something lacks on this picture and I don't know what it is lol.

DSCF4015DSCF4015.jpg

5th, I already framed my shot until this car showed up HA HA HA HA!

DSCF4016DSCF4016.jpg

6th, there you go, the golden hour in this shot is pretty well absorbed by the buildings.

DSCF4017DSCF4017.jpg

7th, tried to lower my angle to capture this crossing lines for additional symmetry until I found out that their road signs are not aligned lol.

DSCF4020DSCF4020.jpg

8th, while walking, I forgot that I should also look up and and not miss the perspective that I will see. I tried to frame a cross sign here.

DSCF4006DSCF4006123.jpg

9th, I also tried to frame using 3 buildings to know what it looks like, I also added a plane to make it look more insane!

DSCF4023DSCF4023.jpg

10th, this shot is special to me because this is where I heard that there is such called Blue Hour. It appears right after Golden Hour where all the buildings, cars and streets have lights but the sun is not yet fully set. This photo shows how Golden Hour and Blue Hour meets.

I took this shot while we are in Burgos Circle. This is where we stop and tried to have small talks and get to each other since there no enough lights for us to shoot more. We took a group photo by the way:

28810271_1844595598898253_986847385_o.jpg

From left to right: Gian, Mac, Jaimee, Jovel, Me, Marion.

By the way, Marion also won the contest from We The Pvblic, you can read the full blog here.

We took our dinner at the Yellow Cab nearby, it was Mac's treat to all of us. We were able to get to know each other there. Afterwards, we jumped at a Coffee Shop nearby, there we shared knowledge in photography, exchange Instagram accounts and show our editing tips to each other.

Around 8pm some of us already left and we started to walk around more to take some photos.

DSCF4052DSCF4052.jpg

11th photo, tried to capture the architectural beauty of this building but it seems that my 25mm lens is not wide enough to capture different perspective.

DSCF4056DSCF4056.jpg

12th and last photo, this is the photo that I took from high street that shows that this city never sleeps!

----All photos are mine and edited using by my own preset.----


Conclusion

I was never more thankful when I joined them, I was able to have a break from studying and submitting resumé online. ( which is very stressful and makes me feel frustrated especially if the you will not be accepted and hired because of your previous working experience. )

I never felt this kind of excitement and happiness before, meeting new people with the same passion as yours, guiding you on how and what to take in every street that you are in to, hearing their stories, how did they started with photography, their gears and many more.

I was able to use different brands of cameras and even the my dream camera bodies and lenses that I only see online and in pictures. Woohooo!!!

That's why I called this as my 1st legitimate photowalk because I never experience this before since I am the one sharing knowledge that I am not quite sure if I am correct or not, safe or not. I don't even know the directions where to go when I lead some before. And I learned a lot from this one.

I cannot imagine myself if I was not able to go with them. My passion and love for photography increased more and makes me do many photowalks soon or even lead one!


No matter how busy you are, how stressed you are, how frustrated you are in what you are doing, take a break.

Find your passion, something that you are happy with. Make time for it, time to learn, time to make mistakes, and time to improve yourself. You can never know where your passion can lead you.

This can be break from all the problems that you are facing, something that you can show and express yourself and something that might be an opening as what you will be doing for the rest of your life.


Thank you!

That's it for me today guys! I hope that you liked it, I hope that you enjoy the story and was able to inspire you to do something that you really want and something that you are really passionate about.

So! Hit that up-vote button, follow me if you haven't yet, and see you guys in the next posts!

rymndbmgt.png

Sort:  

You just added the plane? You got me! Nice editing. It looks natural except that there's no obvious motion blur which made me think, ok, it's broad daylight, a fast shutter is not a problem. LOL

Oh well done! Photography is a bit expensive for a hobby so one need be really passionate when going for it.
So symmetry is the thing, is it? Ok.

Thank you so much @bayanihan for reading my post. It means a lot. Yes photography is a really expensive hobby, sometimes a single lens can cost you 20k php and it ia not even brand new. No wonder why they being paid a lot for a specific event/s.

Symmetry is one key, makes your photo balance and gives more attention to the subject that's in the middle. But there are many angles that you use or perspectives that you can use. With the use of rule of thirds, definitely you can compose a great image :)

Hi! Nice photos! 😍 I have a similar collection of photos in BGC, although only daytime shots, that I posted just recently. I hope you can check them out and drop comments. I'd love to read what you think. Hihi. That photowalk initiative is just lovely. I wish to try joining since I do most of my shoots alone and at random. Haha! And it's refreshing for the skill to be able to listen to some tips from other photographers and share some of yours as well.

Will definitely do that! Btw, thank you so much for dropping by. If you want we can set a photowalk so we can bond together with other photogs here in steemit :)

That would be great! Just let me know when and where that'd be, and I'll see if I can make it through my sched. I see that you are based in Laguna. I am currently in Elbi for school. :)

Wow , this is so cool ! Keep it up 😎😎

Thank you so much for dropping by :D

Wow, so nice. I like all the photos you captured.
You are a great photographer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76