Indiana Jones Sunset Shot at Pacific Beach Pier - Steemit Photo Challenge #20

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Photoblog by @runrudy

Pacific-Beach-Pier- San-Diego-Sunset-Alignment-Landscape-Fine Art-Photography

Taken with a Sony A7RM2 with 16-35mm

This image, I was able to align and capture the sun right as it hit the far end of the pier. To get this shot, I had to get into the water. I love the looks in people's faces when they see a guy walk right into the waves holding a tripod, expensive camera, and wearing jeans to take a picture.

There was another photog there with his DSLR. We chatted and he was cool. When I decided to get a better look and walk into the water, he stopped talking to me and I got a weird vibe.

Hey, I don't have a telephoto lens. My telephoto capabilities are my legs. Three steps forward is my zoom. Three steps back, zoom out. It works for me and allowed me to get a perspective he probably couldn't get.

Be creative, work with what you have, and there are no friggin rules in art!

If he did ask me why I got wet and took a chance with my equipment to take that shot, I would just tell him one of my favorite quotes from Indiana Jones.

"Fortune and glory, kid. Fortune and glory."

Then walk away in the sunset with the Raiders music playing in my ipod. Tada da dat daaaaa.......

If you liked this:

Upvote / ReSteem to support my work.

Thank you in advance,

Rudy

Late%20Date%20Steem%20Final%203-M.jpg

@runrudy

All images © 2016 Rudy Gonzales. All rights reserved.

Animated GIF Source

Sort:  

Beautiful picture @runrudy. Great job :)

Thanks buddy. I appreciate the feedback. Cheers.

I wish I was there, right there on the water's edge beside the dock. As the waves licked my feet. Oh your picture brings me joy. Thank you.

I am happy to tickle your feet. I think : ) haha. Thank you very much. I am happy you liked it.

Haha just threw me back to the ocean memories again! :)

Great photo and great story - yes, we do strange things to get that unique photo.

Gotta do it right : ) It wouldn't be fun if we didn't do stuff outside the box. Cheers.

Excellent shot and story as always @runrudy! Good luck in SPC!

Thank you. All the best to you also!

Great shot and nice to have some background behind the photo.

Thank you @s0ul. It is about the process for me. I enjoy the memory and story behind it. I usually always write something because that is the way I connect with the image. Hopefully others will also. Cheers!

Spectacularly beautiful picture! Nice to meet you, Rudy... I also live in your part of the world...

Following you now!

Hey there @creatr. Nice name. I am glad you liked it and thank you for the kind feedback.

A wonderful shot and it was definitely worth stepping into the water. The clouds and the ripples seem to align towards a joined vanishing point whereas the lines of the boardwalk are pointing towards the setting sun. A very dynamic composition!

Thank you @shaka. I really appreciate the critique and feedback. Especially coming from you.

Great pic, love the Indiana Jones, Buena Suerte!, STEEM ON!!

Cheers! @gringalicious. Steem on!

A really nice photo indeed! Captured the clouds and the ocean splendidly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87