An Architectural and Artistic Masterpiece on the PrairiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

The Our Lady of Assumption Co-Cathedral is a masterpiece of architecture and art that one might expect to find in Europe, or if on Canadian soil, then in historic Montreal. Yet this breathtaking gem stands in the heart of south central Saskatchewan, in the small rural town of Gravelbourg.

Gravelbourg, itself, is a bit of a prairie anomaly. Home to roughly 1,000 residents, it is one of only a few French-speaking communities found west of Quebec. I recently travelled to the town as part of my daughter's French-Immersion program's class trip, and had the opportunity to tour the cathedral, as well as a few other sites that provided a glimpse of the community's rich history.

All of the paintings within the church were created by Msgr. Charles Maillard, pastor of Gravelbourg, over a period of ten years from 1921 to 1931. You can read more about the church's history and construction here.

Unfortunately, I only brought my cell phone along for the tour, so these photos don't do the church justice. I am not a religious person, but I found Maillard's artistic imagery and sheer dedication absolutely awe inspiring.

29_Gravelbourg.JPG

30_Gravelbourg.JPG

25_Gravelbourg.JPG

28_Gravelbourg.JPG

27_Gravelbourg.JPG

31_Gravelbourg.JPG

26_Gravelbourg.JPG

Sort:  

You are a spiritual beastie @redhens - Upvoted :)

That is a very beautiful church. Somebody put some good work into that one. I enjoy seeing things like this. Gives me hope that there is still inspiration out there. Thank you for the post. Followed and upvoted.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I wish I'd had tinny a to take more photos. There were so many intricate details that I would have loved to have captured.

As long as you remember that's what really matters. :)

Such beautiful architecture! And those ceiling paintings are gorgeous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87