Nature Trail: The Daffodil (Stunning Pictures)

in #photography7 years ago

My nature trail has brought several different types of flowers to your attention, well now I would like to get your attention once again and bring you the daffodil. I know the daffodil as a common spring flower like that of tulips, pansies and other, but there is something special about the daffodil aside from its bright yellow colour that has us warm to it more.


Here in the UK daffs is a popular flower given to mums on Mother’s Day. It also along with the Leek is the emblem of Wales. They also represent friendship. And you couldn’t get a better friend than MUM remember.

It is believed there are about 50 species of daffodils, and of which come from the genus Narcissus.

Daffodils are not a complicated flower to deal with in fact quite the opposite. Always guaranteed to pop up every year in the spring. They grow perennially from bulbs and typically grow in groups.

Every daffodil found growing in gardens and fields has a corona bang in the middle that looks like a trumpet with petals surrounding it.
DAFFODIL.jpg

We have the Romans to thank as it was they who introduced daffodils to the United Kingdom. The Romans believed it’s sap had amazing healing properties. But sadly of late, findings supposedly have it that this does in fact contain crystals that are an irritant.

Sunday March 11 2018 (Mother’s Day)…Just saying

Take Care
@racykacy

Sort:  

I love Daffodils. Was a flash used or natural lighting? This is a magnificent photograph.

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Hi @eatsrewards I certainly will and thank you for showing interest in my post and for that I am grateful. Take care @racykacy

Hi @selenaphotos thank you for dropping by to comment it means a lot. The images are not of my own but rather off google images (labelled for re-use). I am glad you like the images I chose because I too agree that they are magnificent photographs. Take care @racykacy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47