Averbode Abbey: Two Photographs I'll show my grandchildren one day

in #photography8 years ago

Two streets (or 3 minutes) from where I live, this beautiful, fully operational and inhabited abbey can be found. It has been there since 1134 (!) and will be there long after I leave this planet.

Living this close to it, and knowing both the abbot and the youngest canon personally, somehow makes me feel part of the larger history of things.

The canons brew their own beer, make their own cheese and bread, all of which are sold locally. The forests around the abbey are open to the public for walking, biking, etc. Schools and other groups get guided tours inside the abbey. It's really an integral part of our local heritage.

Which brings me to the point of this post: two photos I took a while ago, one of the church and one of the living quarters. They have been officially classified as "beautiful" by Belgium's youngest canon. ;)

For the complete history of "our" abbey, I can recommend the elaborate Wikipedia article:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Averbode_Abbey

Feedback, as always, welcome in the comments!

Sort:  

I love HDR pics. And you did them well here. I also like the information you provided. This is how you do a photography post.

Thanks, much appreciated!

photos your calling! We are waiting for more material!

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.02
ETH 2696.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87