Historical Images in a church and a Universal design.

in #photography6 years ago

When visiting an 11th Century church in the South of England I saw this very old baptismal font made of lead, I think, and it reminds you of how many people must have been baptised in it over the years. The theme of water is continued in the wood carving at the pulpit.

IMG_0564.JPG

This symbol is a universal pattern denoting water and can be found in Tibetan designs, in Arizona in the Native American Hopi designs and also in the designs the Polynesian peoples like the Maoris. The design is one for water that symbolises life and good luck and I'm sure has other meanings. It is the type of design that Jung described as archetypical.

IMG_0575.JPG

Sort:  

Nice post!

Thanks, universal symbols!

Good photos and info - I have seen this symbol on ancient Mayan ruins and often in Tibetan symbolism.

I think its Universal and an archetype.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.95% upvote!
I was summoned by @podkin9. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73