SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #2 - Lightning

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

What's more perfect for long exposure than a lightning storm?

Lightning

This is my second entry into this week's SPC. I almost thought all I could share was running water, but that's not so! Lightning photography is all about long exposure!

This was taken with my Canon EOS 500D on a tripod, out of my old bedroom window.

I've got one more coming up (also lightning). The last one is a bit simpler, but I think I might like it more than this one for its simplicity.

Hope you like it!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

Become my patreon and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


As always, this picture is made and owned by me and is not to be used without my permission. If you would like to use it in any way, please contact me or visit my Deviantart page for a purchase.



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

Thank you @chrissysworld! I'm so happy to hear you like it :-)

YOU ARE MOST WELCOME, MY DEAR :)

Lightening is fun to watch .. great to freeze the action.. great job

It is fun to watch! It became even more fun once I learned how to photograph it :-)

Thank you so much!

I have yet to capture good lightning photos, its on my list though.

It's exciting stuff and should be no problem at all for you and your night photography skills! Just point the camera at a lightning storm instead and go for 15-60 seconds, depending very much on how much activity is in the air. I just go by feeling, but I'm sure there are more professional ways of going about it :-)

I was just reading about a device that activates the camera when it detects lightning. I have done the long exposure method and I just was not close enough. I need to find a good vantage point the next time a storm comes.

Ooh that's interesting! I wonder how well it works, as it all happens so fast.
Yeah, my best days of shooting lightning were when I was still living with my mum and I had an upstairs window overlooking a farmer's field. It gave me plenty of free space to aim the camera at.

Ofcourse, even so, still only one out of ~20/30 pictures held anything interesting.

Wow amazing capture
it is very hard to take a photo of lighting
you have done a great job @playfulfoodie
Thanks
keep steeming
Cheers !

Thank you very much @dinsha :-)

Aww thank you so much! :-)

Gambar yang sangat bagus kawan

I'm sorry, I don't know what you said there... However, thank you for resteeming :-)

Google translate says he said "A very nice picture of a friend"

Aah how could I forget google translate! Thanks for the translation :D

Wow, you must have waited for hours and being very lucky to get it right! Great photo!

Thank you so much! Hmm, I just grabbed my gear once the thunder started and hoped for the best! Lightning photography means long exposures, meaning your camera's gathering all the light it sees for seconds (in this case, around 30, less if there's a lot lightning action going on). It's a waiting game and hoping you pointed your camera in the right direction :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68