PV's Daily Log #2 - Getting my passive income done - how to do it in photography?

in #photography5 years ago

Hi Frends!


I want to share with You a part of my plan of being little more independent photographer than I am now...

Biggest and very important aspect and issue which has to be done and fix is to get ourself a passive income!


IMG_3833-1-2.jpg
Photo: Aurora show over Trondheimsfjorden seen from Ranheim beach, Norway


What generate passive income in Photography?

The most common passive income is generated by stocks.
Selling Your images on different photo-stock sites can give You SOME income each month.
The amount of that income depends of quality and quantity of photos You are selling as well as number of Stocks You are selling to...
Base rule here - the higher, the bigger, the better - photos must be high quality to avoid rejections and save Your time for re-uploading. Different subject here is the theme of photo series You upload - but this is subject for another post.
I think I will continue this matter in further posts, showing You which stocks I use, which I like the most and what is my progress in this direction.

All of this has one BIG minus - it is CRAZY time-eater.
We can go fast through the uplodaing process:

  1. Do the photos
  2. Prepare the photos
  3. Fill in metadata for Your shots - write in title, description and key words - doing this during post processing actions, let You much faster uploads later... because most of stocks are reading metadata and fill in the stuff for You.
  4. Ulopad on site
  5. Wait for the approval
  6. Fill in the rest of required selections for every photo on the stock site (cathegory, extra keywording, releases and others...)

After these steps are done - You have Your shots out for sale - and this is the best part - You have to do nothing more just check the numbers of $$$ from time to time...

Looks maybe easy but is really time-consuming.

So - back to subject - this is mostly what I am focus on right now - that is why I write often that I don't have time for being so active as I used to.

I will try get back to this in future with my own experiences and tips.

Remember that passive income won't give You enough money for a liing - so what other projects I want to develop and run? - I will tell You in next posts...

If You want to start selling Your shots - just write in comment or join my Discord and we can chat about it a little.
Link to my Discord channel is below.

Thanks guys for being with me and for reading.
Tell me if You want to know more about Stock photography selling and I will continue the subject!



<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Any photo available as Digital Files. Join my Discord channel for details: https://discord.gg/ApdDcNh
If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
Calendars from beautiful Norway on 2019 available to Pre-order on my site.

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

pv baner.png

Sort:  

I always thought that passive income in the stock photos is more about the quantity and simplicity than quality. I'm pretty sure that internet is full of simple stock photos like hammer on the white background etc but I don't know so much about professional photography stocks. I will be following your experiment and I wish you all the best.
Did you hear about artopium.com ? perhaps it will also improve your incomes ;)

Quantity is as much important as quality - there are millions of photos there and Yours must be in some way original to get some attention - and if the photo will be poor quality - they will reject it in approval process.
Artopium.com - just checked it now. I think it is another page where some stuff can be sold to people, correct me if I am wrong.
There is also page called fineartamerica.com - where You can also sell Your works in a different formats and forms.
To be honest - there are hundreds of similar sides in the web - the problem is that everything needs a lot of time to upload the stuff there - of course, every single one can give You extra income in future - but the problem is, You can choose anly few because You won't have time to be active in a proper way on them all...
I started from microstocks, later - I will see. I will continue working on this until I will be happy from earnings - maybe it will happen in one year, maybe in next few years - but in final - I will be!

Stay tuned, I will try to put some updates about my progress in this matter.

Keen to see how you go with this. I am a bit skeptical of traditional stock. EyeEm is one to consider as a backdoor to Getty without having to give Getty exclusive.

Giving exclusives is not any option for me, I will try to set the same amount of shots in different places and time will show which one will generate biggest income. As I read and heard, for most of photographers Shutterstock beats the others pretty well.

Yes that is why EyeEm is the best way to Getty for me. The issue is you cant cut and paste keywords there as they use their auto keyworder. But there is no harm just uploading all your shots and letting the AI do its magic.

I will check it out tomorrow! I must say I never heard about it before... thanks.

It is stock rather than microstock; so the payouts are a little better.

All sounds really interesting! Will check it for sure!!

https://www.eyeem.com/

They have partnerships with Getty and Adobe Stock and also run their own marketplace. They use AI to come up with keywords. So the idea is you can just upload things and let it do the rest (although you can manually enter tags but no cut and paste). It is also a social media network; started as a way to crowdsource images. It is big in Europe (well at least in Germany) but not so much in North America.

You have Your own experience with this stock?

Yes I will send you message in discord.

Wow, that shot is amazing! I have one question. Can I submit photos with my watermark on it? Most of my photos are all watermarked.

Hi there! Nope - no logos or watermarks allowed. You should remember to keep Your original photos for Yourself as well - in case of selling or maybe one day, You will change Your watermark or design a new logo - just a good advice for You :).

Yeah, that's a great advice! Right now I have only kept one file of the particular photo and that's watermarked. Fortunately, I can photoshop watermark off easily.

I would like to try out stock photography yeah. I have invested some nice money under my camera equipment and would be nice to earn at least some penny back. I have never shot for money or used my photos commercially( except steemit ).

If You have a free time to spare, just start uploading it, for the beginning Shutterstock is the good place to start - not much paid overall but many people have most of their sales there, me too. The money isnt so big, maybe first couple of months You will get a dollar or 2 per month, but if You will continue with uploading, this money will be also higher and higher - depending of how good You will cover needs of potential clients.
It is a lot to write about it - I recommend to watch some YT films of photographers who talk about microstock selling - good to know few things before You start to avoid some mistakes.

Yep, going to start watching some. I'd be glad over a couple of sells already, knowing that someone downloaded it and doing something with it.

Just don't give up after first months - this is not a fast or easy income...

Yep! Sure that.

Wow that is amazing. I love the prospective with the city lights.

Thanks - it is nice contrast between this astronomical phenomenon and city lights on earth ;).

you are great photograper, your stock always sell first. love your style.

Thank You!! Stocks are full of great works, hard to reach the clients right now...

Hi @photovisions!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.879 which ranks you at #4151 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 4156).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 235 contributions, your post is ranked at #168.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28