Here's the surprise Guinea Fowl post!steemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_7834.JPG

Ever seen a guinea fowl balancing a peanut on her beak?

I promised you a surprise and you will have to read to the end, but for now we start with a build up to the end.
Let's have a look!

IMG_7775.JPG

Boom! She flips her head and now the peanut is in her mouth!

IMG_7836.JPG

There was another reason why this crowd was hanging around in the same spot every day.

IMG_9798.JPG

Here's the surprise! The lady that was flipping the peanuts has her nest right here!

IMG_9799.JPG

I pulled one of the 12 eggs out a little to show you their size. Looks almost like a chicken's egg!

Another 24 days or so, we are going to have 12 little Keets running around here and then our big work will start. Small guinea fowl's are known as "Keets". Guinea fowl mothers are known to be notoriously bad mothers and normally only one or two of the little ones will survive. Predators are also many such as domestic cats, birds of prey and even dogs and an absent mother will always leave them vulnerable.

So here's my idea. As soon as the little ones hatch, we will take them and put them in a warm big box. We will feed them until they are strong and then release them back into the back garden. this should take us about 3 weeks, as they are quick growers and they will be young enough to be accepted by the adult guinea fowls.
I have done this before a long time ago and it worked.

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

I just can't wait to see the shots I know you will get from the little Guinea fowls :)

Best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 85%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Well we will see my friend, as I will have to catch them first and 12 little ones can be a nightmare to catch. But there is always hope! Blessings!

wow awesome photograph @papilloncharity .
Beautiful bird. thanks for share with us.

My pleasure to share my friend! Blessings!

@papilloncharity, I like these birds with polka dots:). It will be interesting to see the kids. 3 weeks will pass quickly and it will be very good to protect them all

Thank you Lady Madlen and I will do my best with the little ones! Blessings!

Notoriously bad mothers but damn fine watchdogs! We had them on the farm, and there are a small flock on a street near me now.

Thanks for a great look at them.

Cannot agree more about the watchdog part my friend and we have even seen one attack a domestic cat. Real feisty characters and such a pleasure to have them around. I am also glad that nobody tried to tame them. Blessings!

Great shots of them and such a cool project to try and help all that hatch looking forward to seeing updates on them

Let's hope it works out JJ, as today we saw the feared African Harrier Hawk come over and all of the birds were in a flap. I got some shots of the Harrier in flight and will post them soon. If he is keeping tabs on the nest, it's going to make things difficult! Blessings!

Looking forward to seeing the shots of the Harrier when I do my evening visit to Steemit, butif he keeps returning it will indeed be a big challenge but fingers crossed

Yayyyy... we are on a saving the babies mission...!! :D
Super cool.... We will all be waiting to see the babies grow with you!

I certainly hope so my dear friend! Wish me luck! Blessings!

Look forward to seeing the little ones grow big and strong under you watchful eye and lens.

#teamsouthafrica

Will do my best Lady Joan and it will certainly be a great adventure! Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71