ACETYLENE TORCH PHOTOGRAPHY - Part 1

in #photography6 years ago

These days, it is always something.


As you may have seen in my Randomness of Homesteading posts, often times @papa-pepper ends up doing something completely different than he started out doing. When it's being an emergency veterinarian, a carpenter, or a mechanic, you've got to deal with whatever life throws your way. A lot of this you may have to do all by yourself, but, sometimes you're blessed enough to have friends to help!

TODAY'S PROBLEM & SOLUTION

While removing some trees to prepare a place for our septic system, I accidentally ended up snapping the U-bolts on my friend's backhoe attachment for his front end loader. This basically unmounted the backhoe attachment rendering it nonfunctional.

Thankfully, it was not really as big of a problem as I had originally thought, and it gave me an opportunity to learn a little more as well. For some reason, I really like situations like this.

The whole setting is so raw and industrial. There's heavy metal, rust, sparks, fire, dirty hands, and even molten metal at times. While I had previously heard of something called an acetylene torch, I didn't really know what it was and I had certainly never used one. To replace the broken U-bolts, we decided to use some tough bolts with a metal plate to hold them in place.

While I was observing the process, I took the opportunity to take some photographs. They are very interesting, because in one way, they are all basically the same. They all have the same subject matter and were all taken within a few minutes of one another. However, it is not exactly a case of "if you've seen one, you've seen them all."

Each second the image is very different from the previous one. The metal may be a different temperature, the torch may be in a different position, and the sparks are always shooting off in other directions. It is a rapidly changing environment despite the similarities, and each photo is unique and completely original.

Although I chose my favorites, I wound up with quite a few. Therefore, I'll be doing a second #photo post featuring some of the other shots. For now, I'll share these with you, and in the next post I'll cover more about my first time actually cutting with an acetylene torch. Thankfully, everything went well, the metal plates we made worked perfectly, and the backhoe attachment is now fully functional again!

THE PHOTOS - Part 1

ADDED BONUS - AN ACTION SHOT!

For those of you who made it this far, here's this action shot as a small reward!


If you enjoyed this post, you may want to check out my Welding Photography post featuring @mobile-joat from three months ago. Here is a sneak peek!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cutting-with-an-acetylene-torch



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I love the quote...Don't waste your Time online, invest it with steemit...
and the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with family...I like it thanks...

Wow! Thanks so much! I thought of both of those, and that's what we are up to!

@papa-pepper, I saw your post in my feed and of course the trigger photogaphy made me not right click de link to open a new tab to view it in a bit to continue scrolling through de new posts...no....
This I had to see immediately cause the second trigger "torch" was still burnt in my retina when I landed on the page.

As a photographer and a photographer lover of course I just went quickly over the text to see pictures of a torch in action. First thing that came in mind was "why so many?".
Then I went back to the first one to take a second look and slowly went tru the series. Each picture is almost the same ..but not the same.
At this point I was curious if you might have said something about the repetitive nature of the series. Yup, missed that in the first run too :)

While I was observing the process, I took the opportunity to take some photographs. They are very interesting, because in one way, they are all basically the same. They all have the same subject matter and were all taken within a few minutes of one another. However, it is not exactly a case of "if you've seen one, you've seen them all."

Yup, my first run was a quicky. The second run I got flashbacks of moments around a campfire with friends asking me if I was ok because of the hypnotic state I appeared to be in while taking pictures of flames :)

LOL! What an interesting and honest comment!

I just liked so many of them, and they are all different. Thanks!

You are so resourceful, my friend, and to be able to take video and photos while working is amazing, but please be careful and not too distracted as I know your family needs you to be fully operational. My dad was a mechanic on large earth moving equipment and it brings back memories of him at work all of the time repairing equipment.

I'll be careful! Glad to hear it brought back some memories!

It is just like fireworks in India on the occasion on Diwali festival. Nice photography!

SUPER BOSS....

Thank for sharing that info with us

Wow...nice photo!

Very good! I am glad you go to experience it.

You need to also warn people to never look directly at the sparks and flame from the torch. They are bright enough to cause damage to your retinas. That takes all the fun out if it when that happens.

More so with welding, but I agree with your warning.

Keep up the great work papa-pepper. You are sharing knowledge that can come in handy in so many situations!

Hay good photos of cutting with acetylene. And like to know your experience with it .well done

Thanks for sharing your story. Hopefully you fixed the back hoe! I love the images of the sparks, and the action shot too!

Thanks! The backhoe is up and running!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25