Travel with me: TRIP TO SINTRA

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

On Wednesday I went to Sintra, a historical city in the vicinity of Lisbon.


The trip by local train takes just 40 minutes and costs €5 for the round-trip. As soon as you get off the train in Sintra you are surrounded by beautiful views, numerous palaces, castles, villas and gardens. I had plenty of opportunities to take pictures that I am sharing with you here now:


A view on the way from the train station. The white building on top is the Sintra National Palace (Palácio Nacional de Sintra). This photo is also my submission to #streetphotography run by @photocontests.

text dividers – stars


A closer look at the Sintra National Palace (Palácio Nacional de Sintra).

text dividers – stars

The view that one can enjoy from the palace:



You can see the remains of the Moorish Castle on top of the mountrain.

text dividers – stars

From the historical centre of the city I went on to explore Quinta da Regaleira – a place with beautiful gardens, streams, ponds, tunnels and caves, and an old castle. There I met up with a few friends and from then on we explored the place together:


One of the two ‘Initiation Wells’.


The palace.


View from the palace over the gardens.

text dividers – stars

Then we had a lunch back in the city centre and after that I took a solitary climb on foot – the equivalent of climbing about 150 floors – towards the Pena Palace (Palácio da Pena). The rest of the group took a bus (cheaters!).


The Pena Palace in all its glory.

The palace is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the Seven Wonders of Portugal (from Wikipedia). Here’s more pictures of the castle and the surrounding gardens:


When you buy a ticket you also get a brochure and a map.

text dividers – stars

The views opening from the castle walls over surrounding fields, towns and villages – all the way down to the ocean – are tuly majestic. It almost feels like you are looking down on the landscape from an airplane window:

text dividers – stars

Interior of the palace’s kitchen halls:

text dividers – stars

The photos in this post are my own and were taken with my smartphone camera, Nokia 7 Plus with ZEISS optics

I hope you enjoyed visiting Sintra and its palaces and parks with me. Thank you for checking out my post!



Sort:  

What an awesome place and those buildings, I got goosebumps.
Awesome photography too.
Thanks mate

Thank you for your kind feedback! Those views were a pleasure for the eyes, for sure.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

its so amazing!!
I think I can spend days exploring and relaxing in the well
it looked so adventurous!!!

I hope you will visit Portugal one day, my friend. One can explore its cultural and natural treasures for weeks. I only had nine days this time and it didn’t feel like sufficient time to see and experimence even just Lisbon. But at least I’ve got a better feel of the city after this visit. Tomorrow morning I’m flying to Denmark for a different kind of event there.

Oh my goodness! What an amazing adventure that was and I am certainly grateful that you took us along. I am not sure the last time I went to one place that had so many architectural exquisite buildings. The spires the windows the height the beauty. I could go on and on, the Grandeur of it all. Honest to God, I am surprised that you were able to take it all in and not be in awe.

However I did know that every single one of your companions was female, Oleg! Now here is a man who knows how to live. I'll have to remember that trick when I travel. Only invite men. LOL I can honestly say that it looks like you had a wonderful time paired up with excellent company and I feel very grateful that you shared this whole experience with us.

To top it all off, it was a great bargain to travel to. I love Portugal. I lived in the Azores for about 1 year. You know, long ago and far away. Or it seems like that anyway.

Hi, Oleg! Hope all is going well in your world.

@oleg326756 Lovely Photography and I am sure you enjoyed this trip.

Wonderful picture with some beautiful faces :) have a nice journey

I've already heard that Sintra is beautiful but your photos shows its full beauty! Next time I'm in Lisbon I'll go there too! :)

Have fun Oleg!

Thank you, Martina! Sintra is definitely worth visiting – especially if you aren’t afraid of walking and climbing for hours. :) Tomorrow I'm going to Denmark and will be enjoying an even more relaxing time in the countryside there.

What a wonderful place @oleg326756. I definitely want to go there when I visit Portugal.

I can't believe the ticket was only 5 Euros! 😊

Thank you, Gillian! Indeed, it’s a great bargain and worth every penny! :D

Sooo if i say” nooo me not wana travel wiz you” what happends then??😉😂
Woohoo Waz a colorshow your giving us, stunnnnning blue skys💗🐲🐉😀
And finally someone who got a kitchen worth talking about😀👍🏻😀💗🐲
Wonderful Thanks for bringing us💗⭐️💥

Thank you for the sunny and colourful feedback!

I just took a swim in the sea and now sunbathing before dinner. Warm greetings from Zealand, Denmark! :)

Hm..🙄 ok
Your most welcome, its my pleasure🐉🐲💗
A danish swim is great, enjoy your time🙂

This is the place where people come to rest their body and soul. Just a few hours here and I’m already feeling soooo relaxed and at peace…

Some photos with the local views coming up tomorrow morning!

Aw the one you were talking about👍🏻😀
Wow that was fast !!! So what to you guys do there🙄? I thought them places was ofline😉?
Great to hear your calm and peacefull
Nice il try and get wi-fi working so i can check🙂👍🏻

Wow that was fast !!! So what to you guys do there🙄? I thought them places was ofline😉?

Well, all retreats are different. I was once at Vipassana retreat where we were in silince for ten days and were not supposed to even read, write or draw.

This one is very relaxed, more like a study week than a proper retreat. We have lectures, presentations, concerts, guided tours. We also have seminars and group study sessions where we read Martinus’ works and discuss them together. But everything is optional and voluntary, so I’m only attending things that I’m interested in or have energy for. Still, the programme leaves enough time for walks down the beach, swimming in the sea, or just exploring the surrounding. The nature is very beautiful here and people are nice. Many Swedes and Danes, obviously, but also people from Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Norway and even the US.

Yes thats how i thought they all were.
Its nice that they are diffrent 👍🏻🙂
The one you are on now, sound more to me like a course/class 🙃
I must admit, telling me to be silent for 10 days, would make me go the oposit way ha ha not that being silent is a problem but the fact of telling/ordering me to do something , is like a red button for me😁
It do sound really nice, to be able to pick what you like to try and then go swimming after .. buuz i dooooo have a softspot for annyyy form of water🤣😛

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-03T10:07:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 319.45/200.00
Total Photos: 52
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.86 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87