Stampede 2018

in #photography6 years ago

Today I'll show you some details from the Calgary Stampede site. The whole festival takes place from 6-15 of July.

There is a lot of different events, shows, and competitions and it's impossible to see them all. A lot of food, drinks, and music too.

Saturday was a hot day and five hours was enough to see some of the most attractive stuff and learn some history at the same time.

20180707_162925.jpg

You can see how long ago everything started.

20180707_160828.jpg

Here is the demonstration of how they start farming here. The farmer at that time was happy if he had two horsepowers in the field.

20180707_162534.jpg

Today 500 HP is just about right to do all the field work.

20180707_161217.jpg

Blacksmith is a dying profession I guess,

20180707_161809.jpg

but it still looks attractive for the visitors.

20180707_154350.jpg

Turkey Drumsticks were big and tasty.

20180707_155232.jpg

Cowboy boots.

Always in; like the hats.

20180707_163040.jpg

Another good use of a big GMC truck.

You can sleep over wherever you like.

20180707_173040.jpg

In the afternoon was just a small league. For fun.

I'm sure some good bull riders showed up latter and impress the spectators.

20180707_153001.jpg

Calgary has two rivers.

Bow River and Elbow River. This is one of them with the City downtown in the background and if you look carefully you can see the Indian Tipis among trees on the right side of the photo.

20180707_173328.jpg

We had some seniors among us and got a 50% discount on the entry but when we were entering the beer garden they checked our IDs.

Can you imagine this sign at Octoberfest in Gremany?

Two cans of 0.3L of beer per person and $8 each?

The young boy explained to me he didn't write the regulations.

Common guys? You must be kidding me.

I bought three cans and I must have called my wife to get them. What a F.. shame.

Oh, and I almost forgot. No smoking in the beer garden also.

They really know how to attract customers.

As long you eat some poutine, a dozen donuts, and you drink 2 liters of coke you are a good citizen.

Hey, but don't forget to light a joint while you're waiting on a cab to take you home.

20180707_170925.jpg

I'm against smoking, but it's an open garden.

And here is even more.

Enlarge the photo and think about it.

20180707_174855.jpg

No comment.

Sorry for the rant. I usually don't do that.

I learned a lot on this year's Stampede and ad Octoberfest on my wish list.

Have a great one, my friends.

Sort:  

calgary stampede looks awesome, need to visit it someday

You should.

I had the chance to visit there years ago. I remember the rodeo, but your writing reminds me of the other parts for the stampede.

Nice to hear that.

good job an i always learn a lot from your post , thanks .

Que lugar tan maravilloso y obtienen productos de todas partes del mundo @oldtimer

That really looks like a nice place to visit specially if you like old cowboy style stuff. Thanks for sharing those amazing pictures and I think I will add that place to my list as well.

Thanks for the comment.

A really cool festival! I like the 500 HP green machine... it looks like new technology. Be wary of Indians in a blue tent and never smoke the peace pipe with them!

Good one with the pipe, hehe.

howdy there @oldtimer! ok now I'm officially jealous. that looks like a great place to go and see interesting sites and learn some things too. and have 2 beers! lol. great photos as usual.

Thank you, you have some great stuff down there too.

Incredible place is magical, I am very impressed by the old things for me it has a lot of value, it is fantastic the costumes and everything I love. I love riding. It's fun

I'm glad you like it.

Thanks for posting the pictures.
I live in Calgary and I have been to the Stampede once. I actually can't stand the place. It is really expensive and the crowds are crazy.

Yep, once is enough for me. The pictures were really good.

Thanks. You right, it was really crowdy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93