Trout Lake Abbey

in #photography5 years ago

So a few years ago when I was getting ready to abandon the corporate lifestyle and move away from my home of 40 odd years, I ran across this place. I had spent some time in the area in my younger days watching bands from the city play at a tavern out in the sticks.

We had been driving around looking at properties and decided to spend the night. There are not a huge amount of lodging options in Trout Lake and everything was full. We ran across a little blue sign that said Bed & Breakfast pointing down a dead end road. To say the least we were amazed at what we found. The Trout Lake Abbey is run by a Buddhist Monk and a Druid Priest. Quite the combination. :)

Their rooms in the main house were full but they had this little cabin available. It is called the Courage Cabin and it was amazing.

tla.jpg

tla-3.jpg
Here is the view of Mt. Adams from the deck of the cabin. The Buddhist Temple is behind the tree on the right in a refurbished old barn with a yoga studio on the upper floor to the left. At night we could see lights moving on the mountain. There are stories about UFO's and Mt. Adams but I think in this instance it was just climbers with headlamps heading up the mountain.

The following four shots are of the Druid festival/celebration area and the sanctuary.
tla-4.jpg

tla-5.jpg

tla-6.jpg

tla-7.jpg
The main house can be seen from this shot on the left side of the totem.

tla-8.jpg
One last shot from the deck of the main house on a different trip where we actually stayed in one of the rooms.

Finding this place kind of help me affirm that I was making the right decisions about my life. Thanks for reading and looking! :)

For more information http://www.tlabbey.com/

Sort:  

I guess this is where you've run off to.

A Buddhist monk and A druid priest sounds like something worth seeing.

Dropped you a resteem, hope you get some more views on your posts

Thank you, much appreciated!

We did spend a couple years here. Spring, summer, fall are beautiful. The winters can be brutal. The last winter there we had 12 feet of snow. That was more than I could handle so we moved off to Central Oregon. Colder but a dry climate with less snow. So far so good. :)

One of the places I really need to check out if I go back to the states! Oregon!

I noticed I didn't mention anywhere in my post that this was in Washington just north of the Oregon border. Sorry for that confusion. All part of the same beautiful region though. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97