Stressed ivy

in #photography7 years ago

Ivy the plant, that is, not @englishtchrivy.

Ivy (Hedera, usually Hedera helix where I live) is an evergreen, climbing plant that is very strong. When older, it can take all sorts of abuse and merrily grow on. I've seen 20cm (12") thick branches of the stuff, and I have actually cut some walking sticks out of it.

The wood is strong, flexible and beautifully fine-grained, and I wonder if it could be used for making bows. I'm not aware of any common applications for the wood; probably that's because there aren't enough thick branches of the stuff to go around.

Younger ivy can have problems coping with too much or too little water, lack of nutrients, and cold, which can stress the plant. When this happens, the leaves will turn red:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO400, f4, 1/25s

It looks like a different species of ivy, and pretty too, but actually this is a plant that is feeling not at all well, photogenic as it may be.

Sort:  

Dear friend @ocrdu! This ivy is very nice! I admire your works!
I sincerely thank you for your upvoted and commentary! https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@olga.maslievich/my-bonus-from-steemit-gratitude

Yes friend . The plant in Aceh there were blue leaves her vertebra white

@ocrdu so I almost miss this
how could I miss it damn it!
I like them red though .. maybe that's why they call this the Devil's Ivy - cause it turns red?

am stressed out, too but am chocolate hahaha brown as ever :)
Have a great weekend!

No red nose from the cold?

@ocrdu jawel.. nu ook weer gesneeuwd maar mooi
stem verloren en heel koud maar goed - nog geen ice age dus niet klachten :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66836.79
ETH 3206.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09