The Stargazer - Original Work.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

prev20d07b.jpg

One cold January night at 3 in the morning, some friends and I stood in the blustery Minnesota winter cold in an attempt to see the Quadrantids meteor shower. We saw a few good ones that night, but nothing that was captured on camera.

Here is my favorite shot from the night, the stargazer (who was standing still for 25 seconds):

249e0ce9.jpg
Click to enlarge.

Camera: Canon 5DII
Lens: EF17-40mm f/4L @ 19mm
Shutter Speed: 25 sec
Aperture: f/8
ISO: 1250

Click here to and see more of my photography :)

Sort:  

Is this a real sky? I can't imagine how you did it,but it's beautiful.

Yup, it is 100% real and exactly how we saw it that night. We had to drive an hour out of town to get away from light pollution. But even then it wasn't as amazing as I've seen in the middle of nowhere :) Thanks!

Even then, it's so hard to get a good star-filled sky when the moon is out. Too much of an exposure and the moon turns night to day and drowns out the stars. You did pretty well balancing that here.

Nice composition and shot, really like it a lot. Have you tried this as monochrome ? I think this could make it even more interesting. But thats just an idea. Please don't get me wrong.

ooh, I may give that a go. I just have an obsession with the night sky colors (that deep deep blue which transitions to lighter shades and even reds gets me every time)

Yeah true. I love nightsky too. Was just a feeling that monochrome could work fine, i love the hard contrasts in the foreground slowly fading out into the sky. The shot is great as it is ;)

Added a late upvote because this picture is unbelievable. Also love the RSA Follow token and would have upvoted for that alone.

Thanks man. And I learned that trick from Jamtaylor :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25